We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Diner on the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Diner

Surf Diner
11 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC
8437121850
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: offers "casual- style service of popular Grand Strand fare." The menu is breakfast, lunch and dinner service, including calabash fried selections of local seafood and classic comfort food. There is also full bar.Ocean front dining at its best. Enjoy a hearty breakfast, a quick lunch or a relaxing dinner all while gazing at the surf. Located on the Surfside Beach Pier the Surf Diner offers traditional favorites including Calabash style seafood and local favorites including: hand pressed burgers, homemade crab cakes, fresh chicken salad, hand-shucked oysters and many other great items.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Diner on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate here for lunch one day on our vacation. The menu had a variety of foods - everything from seafood to salads to sandwiches. Our waitress and the other staff were all very friendly. We were seated right away, and we loved eating on the patio near the beach. The food was good and the prices were reasonable. We will eat here again the next time we are in Surfside.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    48
    13
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location to SBR and we had very nice breakfasts with a great view of the pier/ocean. Short wait for food after ordering and plenty of staff to cover diners.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've been to this restaurant 3 times, once for breakfast and twice for dinner. Exceptional food both times. The shrimp and grits are great and the omelets are huge. This great little place has a small bar with top shelf liquour, good selection of beer and something on the menu for everyone. The atmosphere is casual and there is outdoor seating overlooking the beach/ocean. On my latest visit, we finished our meal close to closing time and you would have thought the waitstaff would be anxious for us to finish up and go. Just the opposite, the waitress came to our table right at closing and asked us had we had their keylime pie and assured us it was wonderful. So she was happy to serve us dessert even though it was late. Very impressed with the service, friendliness and food. Get there early, there is always a crowd waiting to get in!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere - fair prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Love that it is ocean front and within walking distance of our townhouse. (really miss Nibils though) Have only been once but food was surprising fresh, good, and reasonably priced. Will go again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like back in time on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time and will not be our last. Very friendly, great service, great food, and great view. Prices are very reasonable and food was very good. Outside deck is right on the beach, can't ask for a better deal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Diner also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Surf Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.