We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Breakfast and You Can't Beat the View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Diner

Surf Diner
11 S Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC
8437121850
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: offers "casual- style service of popular Grand Strand fare." The menu is breakfast, lunch and dinner service, including calabash fried selections of local seafood and classic comfort food. There is also full bar.Ocean front dining at its best. Enjoy a hearty breakfast, a quick lunch or a relaxing dinner all while gazing at the surf. Located on the Surfside Beach Pier the Surf Diner offers traditional favorites including Calabash style seafood and local favorites including: hand pressed burgers, homemade crab cakes, fresh chicken salad, hand-shucked oysters and many other great items.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
299 helpful votes 299 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast and You Can't Beat the View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Surf Diner is literally located on the Surfside Beach Fishing Pier so it's pretty much impossible to beat the ocean views. I like that they open daily at 7:00am which means this place makes a perfects place to enjoy breakfast on the south end of the strand. The staff are friendly and provide prompt service. I personally enjoy their Philly Cheese Steak omelet which is a large omelet featuring grilled steak, onions and peppers covered with melted provolone cheese and a side of your choosing, the cost about $10 including coffee. I have never eaten here for lunch or dinner but they are always busy so the food much be good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    40
    33
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I enjoyed a yummy breakfast with a view of the ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made you feel like you were at home.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, Maine
1 review
“Surf diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was the best restaurant! The staff was nice and the food was delicious! I took my whole family out and the price was right!!! The staff was so nice!!! The cook came out and talked to us saying that they loved people to enjoy his food!!This little place was heart warming an charming! They had extremely quick service!! They have a wonderful breakfast,lunch and dinner! Everything from pancakes to burgers to steaks! This is better than nibels :) I recommend this to everyone!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Not Worth a Second Visit!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have been vacationing in Surfside Beach, SC, for the past twenty-five years. We had been avid fans of Nibil's, which used to occupy the space where this new establishment is located on the Surfside Beach Fishing Pier. The Surf Diner had only opened in July, 2012, so when we saw it during our vacation in September, we knew we had to give it a try. Well, we did for dinner, and we will never, never go there again. First off, the decor leaves so much to be desired; why, oh why, would you put in tall booths, thereby blocking the ocean views. The location, right on the beach, certainly lends itself to great views of the water and beach, but these booths no longer allow that. In addition, there's a large doorway into the kitchen, but it doesn't have a door, so customers can watch food being scraped from dirty dishes into the garbage; not a very pleasant sight to be sure. It's almost like they spent the budget on the high-backed booths, and couldn't afford a couple of doors to block out the kitchen sights.

Now, on to the service -- another total disappointment. There were only four tables with customers at them, and there were five servers standing around by the cash register, talking. We were seated promptly, but then waited a great deal of time before anyone came over to our table. We placed our orders for soup and entrees, and then waited for what seemed to be forever, until our waiter brought out both our soups and entrees at the very same time. The soup was okay, but the entrees rank right up there with the worst food we've ever had at an eatery. I ordered their Fish & Chip Basket, which was by far and away, the worst fish & chips I've ever had. The fish was overpowered by heavy, heavy breading, and it was tasteless and hard. It's hard to screw up French fries, but again, theirs were the worst I've ever eaten, and I'm over sixty years old, with plenty of orders of French fries to my credit. My wife attempted to order their Tuscan Sunset Penne, but was told by the waiter they were out of it; this was at five o'clock in the evening. The waiter suggested their Baked Penne Pasta instead, saying it was very good; it wasn't. The sauce tasted bitter and like it came from a can. There wasn't any ambience to this establishment, unless you like hearing a crying baby who was in the kitchen. We overheard one of the waitresses saying the child was hers. Our waiter never came back to check on us during the meal, or to offer us refills on our beverages. In order to get our bill from our waiter, who was no where in sight, we had to ask a waitress who happened to be passing our table, to get our waiter to give us the check. At this point, all we wanted to do was to get out of there. Speaking of the check -- be very careful and aware of the pricing of items on the bill. We were alerted to this due to our observing an incident at an adjacent table, where the customers were complaining to their waitress about incorrect billing. Well, surer than heck, when we finally received our check, it was incorrect as well, and when I attempted to show our waiter and the cashier the error, I was initially met with negative attitudes; I did persevere, and ultimately they did correct the bill. This restaurant opened in July of this year, and by now you would think any kinks and other issues would have been worked out. There were so many things wrong, on so many different levels, hopefully the owners/management realize the problems and work them out quickly. It's a wonderful location, and if they make the necessary changes and improvements, we're sure they can do quite well. The ball is in their court -- it's up to them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and even better food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

First visit here since it opened in Surfside. Food was delicious. Watching the surf and pier as we ate was an added bonus. Will definitely have this on our list for our next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Diner also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina

Been to Surf Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.