We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD!!!!! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar-B-Que House

Bar-B-Que House
1205 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Dayton, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“FOOD!!!!! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

OMGoodness! This place is the BEST. The food is amazing. Stop by an order one of their BBQ House Plates. Believe me, you will be soooo pleased. Make sure to ask for the waitress named Jessica. She's so helpful and friendly. Best BBQ I've had in a while. Thanks guys, my family and I really enjoyed everything. Thanks Jessica.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great first experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Not the best I have ever had, but very good. The chopped pork and the smoked chicken had a great smoke flavor. There were several sauce choices available at the table, and I liked that. I have been to places that make the choice for you, or only one sauce. I tried a little of each sauce. The Eastern NC sauce was on par with what I have tasted at other Eastern NC places. I had never tried a Lexington, NC sauce, but thought it was very flavorful, better, in my opinion, than the Eastern. My preference is Memphis sauce (Corky's being my favorite), so the House sauce was closest to that flavor, and my favorite of the choices.

The hush puppies were great, and the butter mixture was excellent. The homemade chips were good. They tasted a lot like a raw potato. I mean that in a good way, since I love raw potatoes. Baked beans were good, onion rings were very good, however the green beans were not seasoned enough for my taste, but were cooked well.

The prices were very reasonable, and the portions left us with no room for dessert. Our server, and the other servers I observed, were very friendly and prompt.

Will definitely return on future visits to the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Quck BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have returns to this restaurant on many of our trips to Myrtle Beach. The service is always good and the food is tasty. Especially like the hush puppies and BBQ chicken. My son has ordered the loaded nacho's twice. Definitely interesting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Que on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We love this place and visit every time we are in the area! They have a wide variety of food, not just bar-b-que and great sauces as well. The sides are great as well. The prices are reasonable and the portions are generous! I usually have to get a take out box because I am not leaving anything behind. The atmosphere is casual and the service is great! Thank you Bar-B-Que House for another great meal!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, BEST HOMEMADE CHIPS EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This plan does bar-b-que right....low and slow, smoked just right.

The homemade potato chips are the best I have ever had anywhere! We actually went through the drive through another day to just pick up chips to go with sandwiches.

Prices are reasonable for the huge portions...we had a plate and shared....

The sign outside usually has a really cute saying as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-B-Que House also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bar-B-Que House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar-B-Que House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.