We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A High Five From A "BBQ CENTRAL" Resident!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar-B-Que House

Bar-B-Que House
1205 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A High Five From A "BBQ CENTRAL" Resident!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Since I live very near the BBQ Capital of the South, Lexington, NC, my husband & myself are definitely very harsh judgers of chopped pork & sauce with fixins!! Let me just say, The Bar-B-Que House Does NOT DISAPPOINT!! The meat is cooked just perfectly (usually, except in Lexington, you find overcooked pork...not here!!) and four sauces were available for the choice of the diner..which I loved!! Eastern, Lexington, House & Mustard....beat that? NO!! The hush puppies were superb, the fries were freshly cut, and the bbq or regular slaw was just right!! I loved the "Soda Shop" feel of this neat casual restaurant and our waitress was a true gem!! Add to this that the prices and the Senior platters (which were more than enough for an eater like myself!!) were great!! I call the Bar-b-que House a Home Run and found it much better than Sticky Fingers!! This Lexington BBQ Fan is hooked...we SHALL RETURN!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great value for ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

OK, so the full disclosure is that I've lived in Connecticut all my life, and we Yankees aren't supposed to know much about Southern cuisine. Truth be told, we do have a few noteworthy barbecue joints in these parts, so I at least have a small baseline to start from. That said, on a recent trip to Myrtle Beach, we stopped in at this Surfside Beach establishment and were pleasantly surprised by the astounding portion of the full rack of ribs - fantastic! Gigantic portion for $20, slathered in just enough sauce to make the serving genuinely messy. The fried okra and hushpuppies were a great complement, as were the collard greens (although these were a bit too salty). Slight bummer was that they don't serve beer on Sundays, but the sweet tea was a delicious substitute. Nonetheless, the ribs were the star attraction, plenty for dinner and enough left over for the next day's lunch. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

the best price and barbque I ever eat with out side seats if you smoke clean and good service over all I would rate it from 0-10 a big 10 love this place and cant wait to get back and eat with them again this aug people if you live out of town believe me its worth the ride there

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hushpuppies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great pulled pork, great wings and absolutely the best hushpuppies we ever had. Big portions, good value for our money, a pleasant and friendly staff. We will definately be eating there again next year.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding barbecue at an unbelievable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had lunch and found the food to be outstanding and the price unbelievable. We each ordered one of the lunch specials for $5.99. The chopped poor barbecue was excellent, the french fries were hot and crispy and the hush puppies were outstanding, so good in fact that we had to request another order to share. This barbecue rivals some of the best I have ever eaten including from some really good places in eastern NC. I highly recommend you give this place a try if you are in Myrtle Beach. They also have another location in Surfside Beach on the south side of Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar-B-Que House also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bar-B-Que House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar-B-Que House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.