We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THAT'S ITALIAN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentino's Italian Restaurant

Valentino's Italian Restaurant
323 U.S. 17 Business, Surfside Beach, SC
843-839.4949
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“THAT'S ITALIAN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have wanted to try Valentino's Italian Restaurant for a long while, and had the opportunity to go there a couple of weeks ago, and we were not disappointed. This is one of the better Italian Restaurants in the area, and has some great early bird specials. We decided to try them one Sunday evening for the early birds, and were pleasantly surprised at the great quality of the food and the excellent service. The Bride always likes to try Spaghetti and Meatballs the first time we go to an Italian Restaurant. I had a nice Veal Parm. with Angle Hair Pasta. A very nice, cold salad served with warm Italian Bread started our dinners. Each meal was priced at only $10.99 each, plus soft drinks. The service was fast and pleasant, and not overbearing. This is now near the top of our Italian Restaurant list, and we can't wait to try some of the other dishes. It is a place that we can recommend to everyone to enjoy a delicious Italian meal. It is also open for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    23
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food especially the eggplant and spaghetti & clams.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been there every night for dinner, during my two week stay, thank God I found this restaurant. No other place compares to Valentino Original Italian Restaurant... Thanks staff they were all great. Loved the new owners. They were funny and appreciative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Little Italy of Surfside Beach,S.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were looking for an Italian Restaurant and someone had told us about a place called The Original Valentino's. We pulled up to this store front place and as we walked in the door we could hear Italian music being played and then we saw people dancing and clapping to the music. At that very moment I thought I was in Little Italy in lower Manhattan, N.Y.C. We were seated in about 5 min. (with reservations, which I suggest). Our server was Jess, she was straightforward but efficient. She took all 9 of our orders within 5 min. We had appetizers, drinks, and fresh toasted real Italian bread in front of us. Then, with just the right amount of time in-between our salads came. They were full and delicious. Then, the main course. We had spaghetti and meat balls (which were baseball-sized),chicken parmesan, chicken marsala, raviolis, fra-diavlo, and fettucine alfredo. All were absolutely out of this world. Chicken was tender and juicy, meatballs were full of flavor and moist. All the pasta was aldente. One of the Owners SAL came by to check on the food to make sure all was good and if we needed anything and said to let him know. In time our table had become quiet and all were just talking about each others meals and how good they were. Then came Jess with the desert list, which by this time we were all so full, but my son wanted to try the tiramisu, which she brought out asap. Then came the other owner MARO. He wanted to see how every thing was and if we needed anything at all. At this time we started to talk come to find out we all came from the same area in N.Y.City. As traditional Italians do, out came the Sambuco and the Expresso and we toasted to great food and a great time with new friends. Can't wait to get back to see them and enjoy the wonderful food.

Good luck with the restaurant, boys.

Gene-O

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money or time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service and food was the most horrible I have ever experienced. Reservations made a day in advance but had to wait one hour to be seated. Ordered our food ( party of 6 ) and waited another hour. Received half portions and was told that the restaurant had ran out of food. Owner/Manager came by and dident seem concerned about our complaint and did not offer to adjust our bill. The Orginal Valention`s is the worst dining experience I have ever encountered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“good italian for mb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

im spoiled with south philly italian cuisine, but this is very good for md. my wife and i each had the lasagna. large portion, but a bit too much sauce was used making it a bit "soupy". the salads are premade out of the refrig. they even had draft beer: yuengling , my favorite. would return

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Valentino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentino's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.