We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan's

Ryan's
8671 Highway 17 Bypass, Surfside Beach, SC
(843) 215-0878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

For the price it is an excellent deal, I would say one step up from Ponderosa. Salad bar was excellent and there was lots of variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Health Isues at the Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Today, Sun 3/2/14, our group went to Ryans in Surfside,S.C. about 10:am. It was very busy, but
we obtained a table when others left. WE had t o wipe off the table with Napkinsbefpre sitting down. A waitress (nice) took our orders for drinks and we went to get our food. NO DINNERPLATES were available. WE waited for about 20 minutes for plates to come from the kitchen - they were wet, and it looked like they were sprayed off with water as they were wet and
several had FOOD still on them.The Buffet had bacon that was ot fully cooked, grits that the had
at least a 1/4 in of water standing over them ( told boy who brought them out to take them back-
(he greed ) Shortages on he Buffet messy displays. I thought about taking a picture a sending them to the Health Dept. but decided to write to Business Leader to give them a chance to straighten out a vey unhealthy condition. Of course, we had paid when we entered- but we left
soon - very disappointed and concerned about the conditions of this Restaurant today. The next time, I I ever return- I will watch for health violations and take pictures.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

love love this place had good service and great food.. and sometimes they have kids eat free nights so makes a good family night!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great variety. It satisfies every picky eater. Well seasoned food and warm buffet!! The salad bar and the dessert one were our favorites. The servers are nice and friendly. The place is neat and clean. And is very affordable!!!!! They have senior citizen discount and the environment was pleasant!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh---there are better Ryas out there.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was an okay place, but the food was lacking. Our daughter got a brownie that was seriously like rubber. With the wide variety of restaurants, including buffets, in Myrtle Beach, I'd recommend another. Might have just been a bad day, but we were not impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ryan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.