We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food and terrific service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valentino's II

Valentino's II
531 Highway 17 South, corner 6th Ave South, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
843-839-4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Surfside Beach on Highway 17 Business and the corner of 6th Avenue South. Just a few blocks south of Surfside Drive. Easy access by Golf Cart!
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian food and terrific service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Julie was our server and she was not only a terrific server but was very witty! We had a very good time exchanging funny comments with her! There were 4 of us, our daughter, her husband, my husband and me. Julie gave us insight into the restaurant since it was out first time there. It definitely won't be our last. She offered suggestions as to food preferences when asked, kept us supplied in bread, boxed up our leftovers and attended to our every need. The food was perfectly cooked and delicious. We each got something different and it was all good. The portions were more than my daughter and I could eat however, the guys had no problem making theirs disappear! The restaurant is not great looking but, in this case, appearances deceive! Well worth the price!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    34
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two years away, new name, still great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Have been here since it changed from Cecil's. Seems though that the chef stayed. There was a few things we stopped for the Osso Bouco for sure and the Penne Pasta Vodka, always worth the trip. If any critique it would be the same as Cecil's, being seated and forgotten. Host/hostess seat you and then starts chatting at a table on the way to their station. Once you do get their attention they apologize all over themselves and say its a southern thing. Overall great food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

After reading reviews, we planned to try Valentino's II on our last night of vacation. We were tired & needed to pack so called for carry-out. Sometimes carry-out isn't so great after sitting in containers but this was delicious. The salads were on the small side but a very good house dressing that tasted homemade. The bread was also good. Entree portions were huge and so, so good.

The outside didn't look like anything special but my husband said the inside was much nicer & the employees were all friendly.

We look forward to going back next time we're in the area and dining inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited Valentino's II(Cecil's) tonight for the first time in over a year. We arrived and there wer 5 tables filled(11 customers) and we were seated promptly. We ordered and our salad and bread came out quickly. After a LONG Wait we finally got our entrees. Food was good but service has not improved since last visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Would go back but I would not order eggplant parm - it was surely frozen and tasted like it and wasn't crispy but soggy. Other than this one meal the experience was very good. The sauce is fresh and tasty - pasta cooked well. Steak was big and cooked nicely - portions very generous. The atmosphere is pleasant - not impressive from the outside but nice inside. They have a full bar. The service was outstanding - our leftovers were all boxed for us - waitress was very good. Wine was about $6 - meals ranged from $12 for spaghetti marinara -$ 26 for a big rib eye. Salads with homemade dressing came with the meal and a very good hot bread was served - as much as we could eat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentino's II also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Valentino's II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valentino's II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.