We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eggs Up

Eggs Up
2300 Glenns Bay Road, Surfside Beach, SC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: In a world of constant change, it’s good to know some things stay the same. At Eggs Up Grill, you can expect a good wholesome breakfast or delightful lunch in a family-friendly atmosphere. From signature peaches and cream waffles to the spicy jalapeño and cheddar burger, you’ll find delicious breakfasts with Southern flair and hearty lunches bursting with flavor. Open from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. every day, Eggs Up Grill is a gathering place for friends and neighbors, as well as an intimate spot for couples and families to share a tasty breakfast or lunch.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My headline says it all. There are several of these around the Strand. They are run by the same family and all are excellent. We live near 3 of them and they are all the same. The food is cooked just as you ordered it, the service is quick and the wait staff is very attentive and helpful. There are many places to eat breakfast on the Beach but Eggs Up has them all beat. When we go out for breakfast this is it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    45
    31
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pricing Misunderstandings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

While the incident today was actually at the brand new Garden City Beach location, the same thing has happened in the past at the Surfside Beach location. That plus the fact that the new location does not even have free listings on the Internet yet, is the reason I'm posting this constructive conviction (vs. destructive condemnation) here. I'm talking about the waitress not telling the customer that something they are about to order has an "up charge", and having the excuse later that "It's on the menu as an up charge". I'm hoping that the Eggs Up Grill upper management reads this and instructs all their managers at the individual restaurants to instruct all their waitresses to say "There is a small up charge for that." Right now, it appears that rather than putting the responsibility of having proper pricing expectations on the server and the menu, it is put solely on the early morning's customer's brain to read every word on the menu and have it memorized. I probably am wrong about my assumption now when I say that it almost appears as if the upper management of this local restaurant chain actually wants people to be mislead, so as to marginally increase profits, and the server's tips (over a year's time). The truth is most customers don't want to appear as "cheap", or create a "complaint environment" in the restaurant, so they just go home not having that "warm and fuzzy" feeling about the restaurant. Please, upper management, have strict instructions that are checked up on, and enforced, so that you "over-deliver" on customer service. My wife and I can easily afford the incremental extra charge, but some people may not like getting a higher bill than they expect in this economy. Oh, and the portion size of the corned beef hash at the new store was much smaller than the portion I got at the Surfside Beach location a while ago. I don't know if they've cut back the portion size, or if it is arbitrarily done, but the new smaller portion did not seem worth the price, IMO.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“sausage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

don't eat the sausage, its not real meat I always get the country ham but my wife wanted sausage. she could not eat it nor could I we complained to server but what is she supposed to do. she should have asked if the was some thing else she wanted but maybe she was a little inexperienced, no manager around

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelia, Georgia
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Eggsactly right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The family had a mid-morning breakfast and tried the traditional eggs, sausage, grits; another order up of eggs benedict; another order of Belgian waffles with strawberries; and finally the humpty dumpty omelette. The waitress was courteous and quick; table-side orders were taken on a hand held ipod touch; first time I had seen that used.

The food arrived promptly, was hot, and was prepared eggsactly correct. Food was well seasoned and tasty. Menu composed of several items for even the finicky eaters. Waitresses courteous and refills of beverages were on spot.

Numerous local customers and seniors in the average size crowd for 10 a.m. They also have some really cute shirts for adults and children. Try it: I think you'll like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“They do breakfast right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is an unpretentious little local chain that refreshingly doesn't try to do too much; just breakfast and lunch. I confess that I've never eaten lunch there, but I am a fan of their breakfasts. My wife likes the place because of the build your own omelet option, but I'm not that patient. I've had the french toast with fruit, bagel-wich, west coast, cheese steak and the Paddy O'Sullivan and it's all good. The staff is very friendly and most of them have a nice sense of humor, which I appreciate.
I am a breakfast eater and this is my kind of place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggs Up also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Eggs Up? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eggs Up, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.