We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New China Buffet

New China Buffet
1700 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: This is a fairly new restaurant, there is another China buffet Restaurant in Surfside Beach, SC. This newer one however is far superior.
Restaurant details
Description: This is a fairly new restaurant, there is another China buffet Restaurant in Surfside Beach, SC. This newer one however is far superior.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We go to eat here alot as local's and we never had a bad experience, The quality and quantity of food from the buffet is great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    11
    27
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornelia, Georgia
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Good for the price; great choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have eaten here several times over the past few years and also changed to Ocean Garden Buffet for a while. The atmosphere is more upscale at Ocean Garden, but the consistency and variety of the selections is better at New China. It is typical Chinese buffet food that is average to good, fresh and hot.

Seniors get a discount at lunch so that two can eat for around $13. The wait staff was courteous and efficient. At lunch get there early or late because the crowd is usually lined up at the door around noon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the best Chinese buffet in the area. I would suggest going before dinner when the price goes up. They have everything you could want and the staff is Asian.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Always a Line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Being from out of town, we chose a Chinese resturant with lots of local plates in the parking lot. Repeat business means good food. We were not disappointed. The line for seating was out the door, but we were seated quite fast. The food was good, not the best, but very tasty. There was a lot to chose from and I wish I had been hungrier. As for the service, it was ok, not the best. But when its a buffet it really doesn't matter. The tables were a little sticky, you might consider bringing your own wipes, but the price is very cheap!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lots to choose from. Very good chinese food. Large resturant. Service wasn't the greatest though. I would go back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New China Buffet also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to New China Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New China Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.