We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's Fish Shack

Bubba's Fish Shack
16 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC
(843) 232-9798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Concord
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Been here two years in a row,and was very satisfied both times.Only negative I can think of is the wait,but anywhere in peak season between 6 and 8,youre gonna wait.Food is damn good.Catfish,fried oyster app is awesome.Lightly breaded so you can actually taste the food.Service was above average,but place was slammed.Gonna be a "go to" restaurant for me from now on.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    127
    64
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great fish and fast, friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We ate dinner at Bubba's one evening while on vacation. We ordered the catfish and weren't disappointed - it was delicious. We were glad that our waitress suggested it. The service was fast and the servers were very friendly and attentive. The atmosphere was fun and casual.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Within walking distance of our hotel, we ate here three times during a week vacation. The food is excellent--not a buffet--and in our eyes, that is a very good thing. The price is reasonable. Get there early, because they are busy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ate outside on second floor. Ordered from the appetizer menu hushpuppies, fried green tomatoes & popcorn shrimp. Loved the food!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, but warm inside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We went around 5:30 and didn't have a long wait. The place was packed. We had a great waitress. She answered every question, have suggestions when asked, kept our drinks filled and most of all friendly. We got fried pickles, blackened grouper, fried shrimp and everything was great. They only complaint was it was warm inside.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Fish Shack also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.