We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Catfish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's Fish Shack

Bubba's Fish Shack
16 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC
(843) 232-9798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We eat here every couple of weeks while in the area for the winter. Bubba's has the best catfish. The lunch basket special is good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    157
    74
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
“Very good casual seafood spot- love the fried nickel pickles, & catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We always eat there a couple of times at least while we are visiting there as snowbirds. Sometimes we just like a casual meal rather than a full course dinner and we stay on Ocean Blvd. so it is just a stone's throw away....

Maureen

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No remoulade po boy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went there because they had Shrimp po boy on the menu.
Very disappointed as there was no remoulade sauce.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC-out of the Way- casual dining place to eat seafood GREAT FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Finding Ocean Blvd. in Surfside Beach was a shore without a GPS, but I had NO trouble finding it the SECOND night as we had to return for another meal before leaving Myrtle Beach. This place is GREAT. The place in on stilts as it is right across the street from the beach, but they do have an elevator for handicapped. The HUSH Puppies and Corn Bread were the BEST I have eaten ANYWHERE in the USA. The owner stated they are 'home made' every day. YUM_YUM. The Catfish are fantastic also. When we return again to Myrtle Beach, we will definitely go the 5-6 miles down to Surfside Beach for another great, reasonably priced, great tasting meal.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We eat here several times a year. They offer a good menu, with several Calabash items. The decor and seating is great. they have several large belt driven fans overhead that are neat. You can also sit outside and watch the cars, people, and ocean. I often get the fried shrimp, oysters, or one of their salads. I would recommend Bubba's to everyone!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Fish Shack also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.