We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba's Fish Shack

Bubba's Fish Shack
16 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC
(843) 232-9798
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Anderson, SC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Frequent Visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We eat here several times a year. They offer a good menu, with several Calabash items. The decor and seating is great. they have several large belt driven fans overhead that are neat. You can also sit outside and watch the cars, people, and ocean. I often get the fried shrimp, oysters, or one of their salads. I would recommend Bubba's to everyone!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    100
    53
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Some of the best Shrimp Boil we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate here on a little get away. We had read the reviews and just happened to be right across the street from where we were staying for a night on our way to Charleston. Greg had the 1/2 pound of shrimp boil served hot. It was delicious! The shrimp was a little hard to peel, but worth the effort! I had the blackened grouper. Spicy and delicious. Our server was friendly and we would definately eat here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I ordered it all you can eat catfish dinner (14.99) and hush puppies were are outstanding. Must say I had expectations that the catfish would be small however the portions were huge, freshly prepared and very very tasty. Bobby was my server and he provided exceptional advice and quality service. Also the people sitting next to me said that the fried oyster platter was awesome. Recommendation is go. Worth the drive

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

If you like vinegar or mustard based BBQ, don't order BBQ here! It was absolutely horrible. It tasted like it was straight out of a Lloyd's Tupperware container from Food Lion. I barely took a bite and the server didn't even offer to take it off our bill. She was incredibly apathetic about me not touching my food. Awful customer service!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What's not to LOVE at Bubbas???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I cannot believe how good everything I ordered was. I have to say that the hush puppies and fried dill pickle chips were some of the BEST I have ever eaten.
The staff was extremely friendly and fun. One of my FAVORITE places at the beach.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba's Fish Shack also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bubba's Fish Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba's Fish Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.