We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers as always!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River City Cafe

River City Cafe
11 North Seaside Drive, Surfside Beach, SC
843-232-9797
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Burgers as always!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Its a custom for us to eat at River City Cafe once while we are in the Myrtle Beach area. We usually go to Murrells Inlet, but this time we went to the oceanfront location in surfside. Same great burgers and fabulous onions rings. Seems much smaller than Murrells and not the same ambiance, but we did have a view of the water from our table and there are a few tables outside if you prefer. Burgers are their thing, and its perfect for kids.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    130
    31
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly the Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Simple, great burgers in a great burger joint. No pretense, nothing but food excellence. Oh, and Desiree, our waiter, was fabulous. Ask for her, she's lovely and kind and remarkably efficient.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Not a very big place, kinda crowded in fact but neat none the less. Food and service both good. Would definitely be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have been vacationing in the Surfside Beach area for over twenty-five years, and we always make it a point to visit River City Cafe at least once while we're in the area. Their burgers are the best, and they're very creative with their add-on ingredients. This time around my wife had their Texas BBQ Burger, which she's still raving about. I had their Grilled Onion Cheeseburger; again, delish!! We each had the burgers as platters, so they came with French fries and cole slaw. Everything was excellent and we highly recommend a visit!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome oceanfront location- great fries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

You can't beat the Surfside Beach location of the River City Cafe- it's right on the beach, adjacent to the pier and the Surfside Beach Resort. As a french fry connoisseur, I have to say their fries were excellent. My husband liked his wings, but thought the hot teriyaki sauce was not particularly hot or teriyaki-like. I tried the Berkely Turkey Burger with a vegan patty (great that they have a vegan option!), and it was good as well- lots of flavors going on. The atmosphere was pretty cool, and you wouldn't know it's a chain. If you don't mind a few pigeons, sit outside on the deck and watch the ocean!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Cafe also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to River City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.