We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING FANCY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 US Hwy 17N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOTHING FANCY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for three days with softball team. Had a reasonable price and as always you get what you pay for. Rooms were clean and big enough, breakfast bar was your usual cereal, fruit , eggs and waffle, same everyday. Fresh paint, wallpaper, new curtains and bedspreads and this hotel could charge more and would get a higher rating. The hotel staff is helpful and polite. Would not want to stay here if I had to be in the room for long peroids of time but to run in and shower, go to dinner and come back and sleep it was ok. Remember that it only has 2 floors and no elevator for guest, so pack light if you have an upstairs room or find a way to use the elevator that the maids use.

Room Tip: Only has two floors and no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The rates were great, Staff was exemplary! Certainly would stay here again. Did not participate in the free continental breakfast, but it certainly appeared more then adequate (We prefer full breakfasts, so we ate out). Very clean, quiet and friendly hotel. Well maintained pool and pool area. We had NO issues with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Had a top notch time at this hotel,over the top friendly staff.
Safe parking with lots of room.
Ms. Teel was more than helpful in every way.
Will be there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had booked a king, but since all of them are on the ground floor and I prefer upstairs, I changed to a room with two queens. For some reason, this reduced my rate a bit.

Since I often have a bit of internet work to do, the connection speed is important and I was not disappointed here.

Breakfast was adaquate and I often choose this chain because they have the Wall Street Journal.

Room Tip: Front rooms are noisy. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Nebraska
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Had to stay here on family business and spent little time in the room itself.

Check-in was very friendly, even though it was very late. Saw the same staff every day of our trip - different people in the a.m., afternoon and evening. All of the them very friendly and helpful. Resolved a room issue immediately upon check-in.

Room was good sized and faced the back of the property, away from the highway. Bed was comfortable, although I would have appreciated a variety of pillows (soft, firm), since there were a lot of pillows available. Room was clean, except for along the edges. (That seems to be a theme this trip, sorry!)

Bathroom shower was very nice, clean. Amenities very budget grade - facial tissue disintegrated with the least amount of moisture - since it's very humid in the area, I noticed that right away. Stopped at a CVS and got some of my own and that solved that issue.

Free USA Today and Wall Street Journal. Wireless connection was kind of odd - typical sign-in protocol would seem to work and then disappear. Took 2 - 3 tries to get the system to work. After the system accepted the sign-in, it was good for 24 hours; then we got to go through the protocol problems again. Wireless kind of slow. Very noticeable when we had to get work done from the room through our employers' secure servers. Media-heavy websites didn't load, so don't think of watching a movie on your laptop.

No business center to print out work materials or boarding passes.

Breakfast was pathetic. The front desk person explained that they were having their (food?) license renewed, so had to shut down the cooked/hot food portion for two weeks. I saw the same peeled hard boiled egg sitting out all 3 days of our trip (had a nick that exposed the yolk, so it was recognizable). Juice often was out. The front desk person did re-stock the Danish every hour or so, as those were fresh and tasty - and in demand. There's some kind of breakfast place (waffles, omelets, etc.) every 2 blocks or so on this strip of highway, so one could walk to a breakfast place easily.

This is a very expensive area to stay in, even off-season. I think the Comfort Inn provided what we needed for a reasonable price, and the food may be better at other times of the year. As I said, the staff can't be beat for friendliness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: Rooms away from highway are quieter. True smoke-free rooms only on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Booked this motel on Priceline,rates are still up at the beach,due to many Christmas shows in Myrtle Beach. It was clean,quiet and a good bargain. The bath tub however was very slippery,my husband was afraid for me to even get a shower. Their website advertised a hot breakfast,it didn't have one but did have a Deluxe contentinal which was from 6:30 until 9 a.m. We didn't get up in time to eat so can't comment on that,wish it could have been later as we were there on the weekend.

Room Tip: It is a two story motel with no elevator,so if you can't handle stairs ask for a room on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

this was a fine place to stay, if you aren't in the area to sight see or do the beach.

I arrived two hours before official check in time, but had no trouble in this off season to get into my room early.

I found the staff pleasant and helpful.

The room was respectable... It bothered me that the soap I opened one day were tossed away the next (or at least removed) even though I was staying a second night.

The vents in the very high ceiling could have been cleaner, but it would take a special effort to do that becuase of the ceiling height.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Comfort Inn
Address: 1201 US Hwy 17N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.