We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Southern Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simply Southern Bistro

Simply Southern Bistro
67 W Wesmark Blvd, Sumter, SC 29150-1955
803-469-8502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 113 Restaurants in Sumter
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Phone:(803) 469-8502
Sumter, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply Southern Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The food is superb and the service excellent. A place I go over and over again. The chef/owner is always on site so he oversees every order.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Upscale Downhome eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A little hard to find, but well worth it. Don't let the small strip mall location stop you. The food is delicious, made from scratch and served with a smile. It's a small cozy place with booths. Seemed like a number of regulars the night we were there and we ended up chatting not only with the owners, but also with other patrons. This really is a charming, clean, neat, well run, small restaurant. A welcome relief from chains. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monchs Corner, SC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A true gem in Sumter!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Today we had a most wonderful lunch at Simply Southern Bistro! From the minute we walked in we were warmly greeted and made to feel at home. The menu had a wonderful list of items and I just had to try the southern pie, fried green tomatos and sweet potato. My husband had the fried pork chops and fries with onion gravy on the side. The food was wonderful and the server was very friendly and provided excellent service to our table. Anyone that travels to Sumter must stop in. The dishes are very reasonably priced, the food is great and the staff there is excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The first couple of times we went, the food was very salty and the food was only okay but in the three years we have lived here they have definitely improved! I think they may have changed management or the cooking staff. I usually get the half portion of their cucumber dill salmon, but everything else I have tried did not disappoint. Some dishes that stand out are the buffalo chicken sandwich and the shrimp and grits. My daughter likes the grilled cheese, too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, SC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Really good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Food is good and very reasonably priced. Enjoyed the BBQ pulled chicken, collards and the sauteed green beans.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Southern Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Simply Southern Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simply Southern Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.