We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sumter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sumter to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sumter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1370 Broad Street Ext., Sumter, SC 29150   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sumter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived, staff greeted us. The rooms were clean and in excellent condition. Stay here when you visit Sumter, SC. The breakfast staff made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our breakfast. The breakfast was excellent and they offered bags to go for those who could not stay to sit and eat breakfast. I felt secure in the parking area around the hotel. The cleaning staff were very friendly and ensured that our room was completely comfortable each day. the internet service was easy to use in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
49
30
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garbsen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean and calm location delivers Hampton Inn standard. Fast internet connection in rooms and several restaurants nearby. My personal Rating is above average based on my overall experiences with Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This property is definitely due for a renovation! That said, both times I have stayed at this property, I have met the most friendly associates, including the General Manager. I'm keen and in tune to good customer service, and what they currently lack in polished case goods, they make up for in exemplary service.

There are newer hotels in the area, but I will continue to stay here due to the fact that I am treated so well. This hotel is also almost always sold out during the week, when I need to be there, so I have to book my travel to Sumter a few weeks in advance. No wonder - it's a great place to stay!

Great job to all the staff that work at this hotel.

Room Tip: make your reservation early if traveling during the week or you won't get in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzgerald, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

1. Pubic hairs in the tub; 2. Hairs and debris in the sheets; 3. Brown stains (coffee?) on the wall by the bed; 4. Smoking room when non-smoking was requested; and, 5. Uncomfortable bed to sleep in. The hotel staff was nice and did try to rectify most of the problems. While I was not moved to a non-smoking room, the bedding was changed and the brown stains were wiped off of the wall. However, the tub was not cleaned at all, she just removed the pubic hair with a tissue. I found out later that I could get my money back if the stay was terrible. The manager honored that policy and I was not charged for the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Matthews, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before. The room was comfortable, clean and very luxurious. I loved the smell of the clean linen when I walked into the room. This hotel is in a great location and near Walmart and several restaurants are in walking distance. The staff was friendly. I would definitely stay at this hotel again! The continental breakfast was great as well. My friend and I didn't really get to enjoy the room much due to attending the NASCAR race in Darlington, but when it was time to get a good night rest, we did not have any complaints. We slept very well! Loved the notes placed on the bed that the duvet covers and sheets were cleaned just for our arrival. The restroom was very clean. When I took a shower, I never thought that a shower taken anywhere else other than my own home could ever feel so refreshing!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet, comfortable & cozy room then choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Never disappointed in Hampton - this hotel was no exception - 30 minutes after checkin while walking through the lobby, the front desk attendant called me by name asking me if my room was okay - room was exceptionally clean - bed was comfortable - breakfast attendants were happy to get something even if not out on display - awesome experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice Hampton, I usually stay at Hamptons because they are so consistant in quality. This hotel is no different. Very clean. Laundry facilities too. Breakfast was continental with waffles or light eats. Fresh coffee as you enter the building. Room was clean and well prepared. LCD tv. nice furnishings. Coffee maker and all the usual amenities. Across the street was Walmart and loads of restaurants within walking distance. No problems.

Room Tip: Ask for the rear for a quieter room away from the road. But its a small town. It's quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sumter

Address: 1370 Broad Street Ext., Sumter, SC 29150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sumter Hotel Sumter
Sumter Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sumter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.