We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Sumter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Sumter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Sumter to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Sumter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1370 Broad Street Ext., Sumter, SC 29150   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sumter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
“Nice hotel in Sumter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice hotel close to lots of restaurants and a mall and a short drive to Shaw AFB. Good breakfast. Small fitness room with a treadmill, a bike, and some weights. Beds were very nice - clean, comfortable, and lots of pillows! Ample drawer space for a business traveler although the closet was tiny. Workspace was large and comfortable. Good wi-fi reception. Friendly staff. Could hear TV through wall from next room but not enough to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    30
    17
    5
See reviews for
49
30
18
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The beds were amazingly comfy and clean. Loved the internet service and I thought it has a fantastic breakfast. We were very happy with our stay there. This was our first time staying in a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an older, average Hampton Inn. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but the bathroom was very small with limited lighting. The compressor in the A/C unit was fairly noisy. Their breakfast was on the lower end of the Hampton scale with microwaveable packages and waffle makers. Fortunately, there is a Waffle House right next door where I had a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We always have good experiences at Hampton Inns but this one was without some expected ammenities: No newspaper delivery to room, no free mints until I asked -- then two packs were retrieved from a back storeroom. Our last Hampton Inn featured a breakfast hostess who assured that we got good service and ammenities. We did like the nuts and dried fruit in little packages rather than dipping from a common bowl.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

It was a long drive from I-95 to get to Sumter!
But we were sooo thankful just to have a bed for the night! SPRING BREAK had arrived and all the accomodations on the interstate were ALL gone! So we found this place to be a lifesaver, it was a good value, it was clean and the people working there friendly and courteous. The breakfast area was well taken care of and set up nicely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Conveniently located in Sumter to restaurants and shopping. It's like other Hampton Inns I've stayed at but a little dated with the decor. However, it's clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The gym is adequate, I didn't use the pool and breakfast has plenty of items to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hampton Inn Sumter, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our property. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service, and I am glad your experienced that while here. We are working on some upgrades and improvements, and I do hope you will stay with us on your next trip to Sumter, South Carolina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Excellent customer service. The room was nicely furnished. Clean and stylish. The hot cookies were awesome. My only complaint was the mattress needs to be replaced. Too worn. The location is perfect with Logans and Outback and even Walmart close by.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer M, Manager at Hampton Inn Sumter, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. Our staff works very hard to exceed all guests expectations while staying with us. I do apologize that your mattress wasn't up to par for you. We are constantly improving and upgrading our product and I do invite you to try us again next time your travels bring you to Sumter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Sumter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Sumter

Address: 1370 Broad Street Ext., Sumter, SC 29150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Sumter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Sumter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Sumter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Sumter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sumter Hotel Sumter
Sumter Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Sumter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.