We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Holiday Inn Drive, I-26 Exit 199A, Summerville, SC 29483   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Summerville
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a very nice stay in Summerville. Hotel close to nice restaurants and away from all of the crowds in charleston. Staff was great. Housekeeping was excellent and the breakfast area was top notch. Excellent stay and we will definetly come again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    18
    6
    12
See reviews for
33
16
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Nice convenient location to I-26.
There is alot of places to shop close by and a wide assortment of places to eat.

The hotel is dated but maintained nicely,the staff are great and the pool is clean.

My room has a comfy bed,up to date flat panel lcd,and the air keeps the room COLD.
Free breakfast every morning and a USA Today placed under the door in the am.
The wifi signal is great but the speed seems capped around 100Kb/s.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

No complaints, good staff, decent hotel, great Ruby Tuesdays next door. Saw one complaint on TA, that the hotel was slightly out of town - well i agree in some ways, but you can't have your cake and eat it - if you wan't a hotel nearer the city centre, you may be aying double - if around, i will be staying here again!!!!! Nearly forgot - brillant pillows - variety of soft, frm etc - very good

Room Tip: Very good - does what it says on the,tin. Brilliant choice of pillws
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have family living in Summerville, so we visit several times a year and usually stay here. The rooms are typical HI Express, but clean and well maintained. The Breakfast Bar/Lounge area is one of the most spacious around and usually well stocked, though it seems the pancake maker is somewhat unreliable. They were having problems with the cable system when we were there; probably in the distribution box for the upper floors, because the TV's in the lounge area worked fine. There is ample parking and the lot is well lit. Most of the big box stores in town are within walking distance, as are some of the restaurants. Convenient to the Interstate, though we did not notice any noise from it inside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Hotel looks nice first glance room looked nice but. Cable would work only 30sec at a time then freeze,Internet would log off every 3 mins, Bed sheets had stains on them 1 had some holes n it. Pool was closed and smelled funny. Next time I will stay at hampton inn across the street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Tim D,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We would like to apologize that the amenities in the room you received fell below your expectations. It is the feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, that will enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to further improve the services we offer. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Title says it all and I have my out of town home buyers stay here as it's just the right location when house hunting in the North Area. Shops services, movie house , restaurants and on off
I-26. Great Staff and good breakfeast provided. Happy Clients are house buying clients.
Louis Russo Carolina One Realty Main St Summerville Sc

Room Tip: happy to share anything on Charleston Sc louisrusso@bellsouth.net will always respond !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is pet friendly. Whole place smells like dogs and pet urine. Halls, elevators, rooms. I am highly allergic to dogs and was advised dogs were "probably not" in the room. The room smelled so dank and wreaked but I couldn't be sure that was pets or maybe just the quality of the hotel. They need to have specific rooms/floors for guests with pets. Chunks of wood out of dresser, stains on sheets, cracked lamps w broken lamp shades, etc Nice to have a flat screen tv, frig and micro in room but for $100 a night for an off highway hotel, needs an enormous cleaning/Reno/policy revision. I've stayed here before but will not again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear emcfish,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. I am pleased you liked the television, fridge and microwave in your room. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I understand your concern about the pet smell. I apologize the overall quality you received was unacceptable and we fell below your expectations.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Best Regards,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville

Address: 120 Holiday Inn Drive, I-26 Exit 199A, Summerville, SC 29483
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Summerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Summerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Charleston-Summerville, South Carolina...fondly known as 'The Flower Town in the Pines.' This historic village combines sophisticated shopping as well as charming and eclectic restaurants with a kind of hometown hospitality you thought had disappeared forever. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston-Summerville is conveniently located off Interstate 26 and Highway 17-A at exit 199A, with accessibility to Historic Charleston, plantations, golf courses, local beaches and other attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston-Summerville is located 12 miles from the Charleston International Airport. Our hotel features 123 guest rooms that feature microwaves/refrigerators meeting the need of the corporate, group and leisure traveler. A brand new exercise room is on site and the hotel is equipped with free wireless high-speed Internet in every guest room. A pet friendly hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston-Summerville welcomes all furry friends. Please review our pet policy when checking in. The hotel has facilities that are accommodating up to 200 persons, our staff specializes in meetings, weddings, reunions or any special event you may have. This great town of ours will soon become one of your favorite places to visit and the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston-Summerville gladly welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville Hotel Summerville
Holiday Inn Summerville
Holiday Inn Express Summerville
Summerville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Charleston-Summerville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.