We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santee National Wildlife Refuge

Santee National Wildlife Refuge
2125 Fort Watson Road, Summerton, SC 29148
803-478-2217
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Summerton
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Mexia, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are staying temporarily about a mile from this site. I visit it at least once a week.Beautiful views of the lake and the most amazing sunsets that I have ever seen! Steeped in history! Just off I-95 and well worth the stop

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Incredible staff, great birding festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This was my second time to attend the Santee Birding Festival and this year we picked up registration packets at the Wildlife Refuge office. The staff is wonderful, knowledgeable, helpful. It was a wonderful introduction to an excellent festival.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A magical wilderness, minutes from I95”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

While traveling on I95 we stopped at Santee Wildlife Refuge to stretch our legs, and within minutes we found ourselves in a wonderful wild place. We climbed the Indian mound and hiked the two trails closest to the highway--Wrights Bluff, and Dingle Pond--both of which include beautiful cypress swamps. This took us a little longer than two hours. While hiking we saw a snake, a turtle, a large owl, great blue herons, a wood duck, mallards, geese, as well as more small birds than we could name or count. The staff at the visitor center was wonderful: friendly and helpful. Next time we're passing by we'll definitely visit again. Very highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

We hiked the 7.5 miles around the park and we were not at all disappointed. I would highly recommend being prepared for ticks. We had to scan eachother about every half hour or so as we forgot bug deterrent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must see for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Santee National Wildlife Refuge has something for everyone, young and old. The Refuge is divided into 4 distinct areas. There are hiking and bicycling trails as well as canoe and kayaking areas. You can fish, view the many birds, animals and reptiles who call the Refuge home or just pass through. There are hundreds of bird and waterfowl species, including eagles, osprey, herons and wood ducks. Some of the other species who call the Refuge home are deer, pigs, turkeys and the largest alligators I've ever seen. There is a nice visitors center. If you are not an outdoors person, you can drive through 2 of the units.
In addition, there is an old Indian Mound near the visitors center.
The Refuge is one of our favorite places to visit. We often take friends there. You will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santee National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 

Been to Santee National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santee National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.