We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Thyme Cuisine

High Thyme Cuisine
2213 C Middle Street, Sullivan's Island, SC 29482-8780
+1 843-883-3536
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I SO wish I lived near this restaurant. I would return often so I could try everything on their menu!
My husband and I agreed this was the best meal we'd had during our week long stay on Isle of Palms. We had meals in Charleston, and in Mount Pleasant also. I'm very glad we found this place. We do plan to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    14
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Mimosas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A great find! Generous mimosas, portions, delicious food and cheerful, prompt service. We had the Chicken Hash and the Green Chili Chicken and Black Bean Omelette. Will definitely revisit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal - definately a repeat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had an excellent experience at High Thyme. My wife and I were not exceptionally hungry so we dinned on appetizers. We shared the scallop appetizer which was very tasty especially with the ham accent. I had the tuna and my wife had the salmon cake, both very good. We will give the restaurant a conditional excellent rating ....... the condition is that you must expect a somewhat loud and energetic bar crowd. However, on the Thursday night we visited, the noise level was acceptable and we were able to carry on a decent table side conversation. This is a repeat for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice spot for a quiet dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate dinner here while vacationing in Sullivan's Island. Food and wine were both excellent and the service was attentive. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Even better than before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I spend a lot of time in the Charleston area, and have been coming here 3 or 4 times a year for about 10 years. We've been here several times since I last reviewed it in 2012, and I now want to raise my rating from "very good" to "excellent." As many others have pointed out, this restaurant and bar is very popular with locals; it is small, nice-casual, friendly and serves great food for reasonable prices. I usually order a salad and appetizer, or two appetizers, which is a lot of food. I almost always get the Cioppino appetizer, which is entree size and as good as anywhere I have been (fish, mussels, shrimp in a tomato sauce, with bread for dipping). Tonight, I also had the special bruschetta appetizer with shrimp, calamari and olives. Delicious! My wife often gets the Duck Confit Stuffed Mushroom, and it is usually excellent, but sometimes the duck is tough. The warm chocolate cake is a wonderful (and very rich) dessert. As others have said, many items on the menu are very good.

Like any small restaurant, High Thyme can get overwhelmed or have an off night, but we have loved it 9 out of 10 times. It is one of our favorite places in the Charleston area, and we have been to dozens. It can get loud at times, and the chairs are the small, wooden kind with no padding, but still comfortable. Some nights have special events (such as Tapas Tuesday), so check before you go to see if it is something you would like.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Thyme Cuisine also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to High Thyme Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Thyme Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.