We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Medley

Cafe Medley
2213 Middle St, Sullivan's Island, SC 29482-8780
843-793-4055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stopped for a quick lunch and were delighted with this find. The menu had so many intriguing choices that I had trouble deciding but settled on the French Poodle (panini with brie, pears, and honey) which was delicious. It came with a delicious, fresh salad. The service was prompt and friendly; prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great little happy hour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a living social coupon and it was the best deal around. Quaint little cafe right in Sullivans on main strip. Great wine selection for a small shop. Ordered a few appetizers/small plates with some wine and just hung out. Service was fantastic and food was delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been to Cafe Medley several times over the past few months. Usually I go to enjoy a latte while I read a newspaper, book, or write in my journal. Wifi is available, too, if that's your preference. Occasionally I would order a sandwich if I arrived closer to noon. The staff makes a great lox sandwich on toasted sourdough; since I'm not excited about bagels, Savannah-barista par excellence, offered the bread when I first ordered the sandwich. There are tempting pastries also. In addition the cafe has a wide wine selection. Apparently they have wine-tasting evenings, which I have never experienced so far, but if their daytime service is any example, the wine events should be above average. Spending two winter months here in South Carolina instead of Minnesota have been a real pleasure, one reason of which is the enjoyable time I've spent at the Medley.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The best place on Sullivan's Island for coffee, tea, and a light breakfast or lunch. Excellent service and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Cafe Medley has been a great addition to the SI scene since it opened. I have long patroned them for coffee and breakfast items, and for lunch (the veggie sandwich with hummus, tomatoes, and cucumbers is AH-MAZING). They have an amazing wine selection, as well. Having lived in the area for 10 years, I truly appreciate a local place that makes me feel like I am on vacation in my own town. Cafe Medley is that place. Their porch seating is the best people watching on the island. Their Wednesday night $5 wine tasting is a wonderful, relaxing time!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Medley also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cafe Medley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Medley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.