We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should see if staying on Sullivan Island!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Sumter National Monument

Fort Sumter National Monument
1214 Middle St, Sullivan's Island, SC 29482
843-883-3123
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, Monuments/ Statues, History Museums, National Parks, Parks, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Learn all about this storied spot of the first clash between the Union and Confederate armies in the Civil War, in which the Union forces finally surrendered after a 34-hour bombardment by the Rebels.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mount Prospect, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should see if staying on Sullivan Island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We rented a house n the island, heard so many good reviews about Fort Moultrie, so decided to take a drive with the family. The fort was very interesting and educational for our children, ages 11 to 19. The water views were beautiful, we even saw huge ship arrive carrying cargo from Ireland!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    438
    124
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“FOR CIVIL WAR BUFFS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Fort Sumter is accessible only by boat, however, it is a great little visit for those who enjoy American History and those who are Civil War buffs. Lots of great photos to be taken, One can relax and enjoy about a 30 minute boat trip to and from the fort. A must see for all who have not seen this important landmark in the history of our great country.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good for History Buffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was very interesting to read and see where the Civil War all started. The museum is well done and worth a visit. A very pleasant boat ride.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“history buffs delight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is definely for the history buffs. The narrated boat ride over to the fort was very interesting and you learn alot about the fort and its history. the fort itself has a museum of history of the civil war and how it started. of couse there is always a gift shop which included a book store with every book on the civil war. It was hard to pry my husband back to the boat.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We took the ferry out from Charleston. They have a good museum at the ferry terminal where we could get a good history of the build up and start of the civil war. The price to get out to Sumpter was very reasonable, and the ride itself (though freezing!!) was also informative. The 'captain' was very amusing before we started, and the recorded dialogue taught us a lot. We had coffee and snacks coming back to warm us up, and the coffee was far beyond what we expected in quality, and very well priced.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Sumter National Monument also viewed

Sullivan's Island, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fort Sumter National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Sumter National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.