We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“None Better!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wade's Family Restaurant

Wade's Family Restaurant
1000 N Pine St, Ste 33, Spartanburg, SC 29303-3182
864-208-0711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 279 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Dessert
Deltona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“None Better!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you make it to Spartanburg South Carolina..its a must to do..check out Wades... fresh vegetables..and great choices of Entrees.. everything is great..I wish I lived there so I could go everyday,,if you go on Sunday around noon you will have a wait because the place is so crowded..but worth the wait,,..They have an Express line you can go through or you can go in the dining area and be seated.. and be served by an exceptional staff.... Now I'm hungry again for Wades and can't go..reason! I live in Florida...I'm planning another trip and I'm definitly going to Wade's

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    52
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you're from "around here" then this is food just like your mother used to make!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I sometimes enjoy the "table service side" but if the express side is open, that's where I'm heading.

The down side is you have to make up your mind and pick out a meat which is served to you in the line, usually a choice of turkey and dressing, fried chicken, meatloaf, chopped steak, barbecue hash, etc. each delicious in it's own way. The choice differs a little by day of the week.

Then help yourself to all the veggies and fixin's your little heart desires as you make your trip down the express line with your tray. I personally need my fix of turnip greens and the mashed potatoes are to die for. You can have a heaping helping of more than hospitality here at Wade's and for about $8.50 (dessert is extra but who can hold it??) you're going to leave with your eyes popped out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL3, Owner at Wade's Family Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Rich and Linda,

I am disheartened to hear that your experiences at our restaurant weren't to your enjoyment. We do understand that our brand of Southern cooking isn't for everyone and thank you for atleast making us aware. However, I did want to mention a few things that may hopefully ease your woes. Most of our vegetables are not canned, we cook as many of our vegetables as fresh as possible, for example we cut and slice our squash and carrots the day of cooking and use only salt, pepper, and canola oil to season them. We also make all of our cold salads and creamed potatoes from scratch each morning to ensure they are as fresh as possible. It was good to know that you find our prices reasonable, we like to keep our prices as long as possible without cutting into quality. I hope this did not come off as rude, I just wanted to make sure I clarified some things I noticed. I hope you will one day give us another try! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wades has the best home cooking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is without a doubt the best home cooking place I have eaten. If you like yeast rolls, fried chicken and southern cooked veggies, this is your place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great meat and 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I love this place. Very affordable. Great place to take children. Good food and service! If you go on turkey and gravy day, try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“meat and 3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

always good. I love the BBQ hash, country style steak, green beans, turkey and dressing. I don't know of anyone that does all these things better. Rolls are wonderful. No credit cards, cash and check only.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wade's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wade's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wade's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.