We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Candlenut Lane, I-85 Exit 75, Spartanburg, SC 29316   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Spartanburg
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I’ll never count them out again. We made reservations on the go the same day based on tripadvisor reviews. It is fairly clean, quiet and comfortable. It’s back off the main road, but easy to reach. Great breakfast too. Good value all around. Only drawback was a strong floral scent upon arrival that allergy sufferers may not like, but could tolerate. Not sure what they were covering up or if was routine cleaning.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room or higher to avoid lobby noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
16
8
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

What can we say. The beds were hard, the pillows were horrible. And as there were 3 of us in a room, we got a suite with a pull out. The front desk knew we were on our way in. Aww, we get to the room and expect to go to bed . . .after showers we go to open the pull out and NO LINENS!! When we call the front desk we are told we HAVE to come get them!! So luckily we were on the first floor and it was not a long trip but still to have to go get linens to sleep is crazy. They could have given us the linens when we checked in. Our friends were on the 2nd floor and said their room was built for midgets. Everyone on the 2nd floor was complaining. The bed was about 7" off the floor and the shower heads hit you in the chest . . .not a place we will stay again.

Room Tip: stay on the first floor if you can, the rooms are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean and updated and the breakfast was decent. My only complaints were the strong mildew smell in the room and no ice on our floor. Fix these things and its a pretty nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you get a suite, the rooms are a bit more comfortable. All beds are full size not dbles as listed. Good for short stay, clean, good service, regular breakfast, right off interstate, local stores, restaurants all walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Check it was very quick and efficient. I have to agree with another review in that the staff was helpful but not outgoing or overly friendly. But, that is really not a deal breaker.
Hotel lobby and room was clean, smelled fresh, and was welcoming. The room is quite modern in decor, but in a tasteful and not cheap looking manner. Great flat screen tv, good size fridge. Bathroom was outstanding for this level of a hotel. Beds were comfortable, the room had a digital thermostat for regulating the air temp and it worked perfectly. Breakfast was typical standard free fare; not spectacular but the coffee was good and kept fresh. The hotel has a small exercise facility that was available 24/7 which was nice.
Overall, it was an outstanding deal and had quick access to I-26. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The smoking area is outside the first floor far left. Nice little area to sit away from the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

PROS
• Convenient location, right off the highway and near strip shopping centers & restaurants
• Quick check-In, check-out
• Helpful (though not overly friendly) desk staff
• Hotel only has 65 rooms and was pretty empty during our Thursday night stay
• Firm Bed
• Comfy Pillows (not overstuffed)
• Tall, 4-foot fridge
• Microwave (very tiny though)
• Big, four-drawer dresser & two big nightstand drawers
• Full length mirror
• Magnifying face mirror in bathroom
• Built-in hair dryer in bathroom
• Iron & board
• Shower is smallish and a little dark, but adequate and good nozzle, water pressure & temp... elevated, which I kinda liked... felt like I was in a European shower... some tall guests may have problem, since shower ceiling only allows maybe 6'
• Breakfast options include yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bagels, variety of cold cereals, Belgian waffle maker, bananas, apples, tangerines, danishes, Twinkies & cupcakes, mini-muffins, scrambled eggs, sausage patties & links, orange & apple juice, oatmeal, etc.
• Fitness room has treadmill, elliptical, seated peddler and stepper. Only one TV on the wall.

CONS
• Dated, dark decor
• Worn desk chair with visible tear in back
• No desk lamp - instead they have a nightstand light & a floor lamp on either side of desk
• No "automatic" setting on the a/c - heater; only "heat" , "cool" and "off". We froze at night, then burned up in the morning.
• DARK bathroom - definitely needs more light, you can't see your whole face in the makeup mirror (consider bringing own light up mirror, or bring in the floor lamp)
• Not enough outlets - desperately need a second one in the bathroom (consider bringing multi plug or power strip)
• Worn bath towels
• Old, kinda grungy Sunbeam coffee maker in the room... Iooks like it came from a yard sale
• WEAK coffee in bedroom and at complimentary breakfast. Fortunately McDonald's is just a few blocks away so you can get a "real" cup of coffee there.
• No universal gym or weights in fitness room
• Small, not very private pool in the front of the hotel next to the parking lot

Room Tip: Our room (#200) was across from ice machines, but didn't have a problem with noise. We were also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

quick easy check in... friendly staff... clean and comfortable room.... great price for what we got... will definately stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 154 Candlenut Lane, I-85 Exit 75, Spartanburg, SC 29316
Location: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites-Westgate is Spartanburg's Newest All Suite Hotel.Enjoy a relaxing visit by taking advantage of our outdoor swimming pool and whirl tub, fitness room,Free Hot Breakfast,24-hour Coffee Bar,Free Wifi access,and our Free Manager's Reception Monday's-Thursday's 6-8pm. True Southern Hospitality with a modern feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Spartanburg
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Spartanburg
Spartanburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.