We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna

La Taverna
120 Dorman Commerce Dr, Ste A, Spartanburg, SC 29301-2649
864-576-8660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 287 Restaurants in Spartanburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The food is wonderful. It makes you feel like you are in a villa on the Meditarranean.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Food- Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Very nice place. Nice atmosphere. I had the shrimp scampi, my son had a chicken dish and my husband had a veal dish. Both said their food was very good. Mine was good- the only complaint was that it was too "runny"- swimming in too much butter. I would prefer it a little dryer. Overall, I liked this place and will go back again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great food at great prices. Great pizzas and pastas

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Real Italian Food and Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

If you like Italian, you'll love this Italian eatery. Authentic, like New Jersey or New York Italian. If there's a Mafia in SC...they eat here! Lunch is pleantiful and cheap. Sauces, gravies, dressings are made by Rosario, owner and chef. If you've never had a pizza in the North or Italy, try his and you'll know.
Dishes abound with red, some brown, and some cream sauces. The ingredients seem to be top notch. My Italian friend from New York told me the cheese was exceptional. Eggplant and chicken parmagian are excellent. The veal dishes have a variety of sauces. I been there almost 100 times and have not been disappointed. The aroma, the music, and decor, make you feel like you're in Italy.
Evening cuisine is more expensive but the specials will knock yourd socks off. More expensive but absolute gastronomic delights. A great place for a romantic meal.
Don't forget to order his terrimazzu. Homemade dessert with homemade caramel accent. Creamy and light so you'll have room. Top it with Kaluha for an added kick. Please, do yourself a favor, visitr La Taverna.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty Italian convenient to I26 - and not a chain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Found this great little local mom and pop Italian restaurant just off I26 as we were trailing by Spartanburg. The food was tasty and very fresh and the service was very good. Definitely recommend it and would stop here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna also viewed

 
Spartanburg, SC
 

Been to La Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.