We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center

Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6690 Pottery Road, I-26, Exit 17, Spartanburg, SC 29303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Spartanburg
FOND DU LAC
1 review
“Comfortable room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Given the price, this was an OK place. Staff was courteous, althought they seem to leave the desk unattended quite a bit. Room seemed clean, although dated. Bed was comfortable. Lights in bathroom flickered so badly, I had to disconnect one bulb. There was a hole in the wall where the entrance door had hit it. Location was convenient to expressway, restaurant, gas station. Breakfast was a few carbs...no protein. Nothing special. Would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    29
    20
    12
See reviews for
38
26
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blythewood
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room had a slight musty smell. There was mold behind
The bathtub faucet and along the joints of the tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLLY HILL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The bath room was very dirty,ac noise was terrible, fan in bath runs all the time very annoying,tv had broken buttons ,over all the room was very unpleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is what it is. The Reception area was comfortable and inviting, and service was efficient. The room was spacious and very clean. All the linen was white and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. The furniture was a bit dated, but this is a budget hotel, and we didn't expect The Ritz. I will certainly use this hotel again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Florida. It was clean and cheap and they had a rollaway bed available. Front desk very helpful with questions and concerns. Door knob on the bathroom would come off but you could always put it back on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I would not send anyone there. The breakfast bar was a joke. The staff was rude. The bathroom was very small. Yes they do take pets but that is all that I liked about the hotel. The price was ok, but I expected better than what I got. Have been to other Howard Johnsons that was a lot better in everything. One good thing about it was it was close to other food places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel, very convenient to the Spartanburg Expo Center and I-26. The final rate with all taxes for a four night stay during a sold out house was less than USD 50 per night. The room was standard fare for a budget motel: Bed, Color TV, Refrigerator and Microwave.

The annoyances were also standard fare for budget motels. We checked in, late on our first night. When we got in our room, there was an ice bucket, but no cups or glasses of any type in our room. When we were leaving on the next morning, we asked the house keeping attendant to please leave some cups in our room. When we returned the room had been serviced, but there were still no cups. At dinner, we got our drinks in large plastic To-Go cups and took them back to our room. When we left the next day, I moved the cups over to an area where I had my computer set up so they would not be discarded. When we returned that evening, our large cups were gone and replaced with small Styrofoam cups.

On our last day, a very strong odor of soiled diapers greeted us as we got off the elevator and walked to our room.

The Rise and Shine breakfast was funny. There was absolutely no protein to be found anywhere. There was a pot of coffee and a dozen Krispy Kreme doughnuts along with other pastries, several pieces of white bread and two silos of cereal.

All in all, these are minor annoyances, but they sure added up over a four night stay, but, for my purposes, they did not outweigh the convenience and price

Room Tip: All rooms are about equal at this property. The front side faces a parking lot for the hotel and ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center

Address: 6690 Pottery Road, I-26, Exit 17, Spartanburg, SC 29303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Spartanburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Spartanburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Spartanburg
Spartanburg Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Spartanburg - Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.