We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrive by Boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center

The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center
1290 Doug Hollow Rd, Seneca, SC 29672
+1 864-888-4446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 75 Restaurants in Seneca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Arrive by Boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice upscale restaurant with a weekender attitude. There is car access but the fun part is to arrive by boat, dock and walk up to the restaurant. The staff is happy to see you no matter how you are dressed, and are familiar with seeing people duck into the restrooms to change into or out of swimsuits. The menu is varied enough for repeat visits and often there are specials. The Havarti mac & cheese is wonderful, and if you have been skiing hard on the lake the Maryland Crab Pretzel is a fabulous reward. I also recommend the Keowee Sunset salad. There is a deck for outdoor seating and a fireplace in the center of the downstairs. The best view is from the upstairs, but while nice it isn't special enough to wait for seating upstairs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a little more "upscale" than we expected, and were in our cover ups, as we came by boat. However, nobody seemed to care and the food was outstanding! Even the kids liked it (we had 3 picky teenagers with us).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Something's gone wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have a weekend home near here and we have gone to the Lighthouse since it first opened and were very pleased at first. But something's gone wrong at least since a visit there last July. The service and food quality have both gone downhill. We continue to go there in hopes that somebody will get their act together. This past weekend we had to send back an order as it was so poorly prepared, then waited almost a 1/2 hour for the new meal. Several weeks ago we were there with a group of 10. The service was abominable and it took 45 minutes from the time we were ready to leave to get our checks.

It's a beautiful spot with nice atmosphere but somebody needs to pay better attention to what's happening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely Lakeside Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you are looking for a scenic setting, friendly service, and tasty fare at a reasonable price, The Lighthouse on Lake Keowee in Seneca, South Carolina could be just for you.
We were there for lunch (make sure you have the lunch menu or dinner menu as the case may be) on a Sunday. Currently, they are open from 11 AM to 9 PM. I understand that they are open all year. They do have a "Kiddie" menu with all items at $5. The adult menu is divided into appetizers, salads, sandwiches, land, and sea. Prices range from about $7 to $15. More at dinner time. You can be seated inside on the main floor or second floor or outside on the wrap-around porch. We started outside, but moved inside as fruit flies were numerous.
It did take between 15 - 20 m for us to receive our orders, but we were not in a big hurry. If you like, you could walk around and enjoy the artwork by local artists on the walls while waiting.
Women's orders were taken first, and women's food was served first. It was sweet. Our fare consisted of BBQ Mahi Mahi fish tacos (look on the appetizers), Keowee Sunset Salad (comes with a substantial grilled salmon filet on top), Keowee Chicken Panini, and Shrimp Po Boy (suggested by the greeter; she was right...it was delicious). The meals were delightful and perfect for each person's appetite.
The restaurant was clean, as was the ladies restroom. There was real silverware wrapped in a cloth napkin, and glass glasses.The staff was on the younger side, but very attentive and anticipated beverage refills. They were supervised by adults ( manager / owner?). They did say that their menu would be going through some changes. Hope they keep everything we had! :->
You can drive to the restaurant or go by boat and walk up about 75 ft. on pavement.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great view of lake with good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Can't beat the view! Located on the shores of Lake Keowee, accessible by car or boat. In fact, they have a LOT of good quality boat slips, and are open for lunch, which makes for a great destination if you are boating. Servers are attentive & friendly. Outdoor seating available on wrap-around deck. Interior is spacious and clean. Food is pretty darn good, reasonably priced too! They cater special events on-site, and did a very good job for the event that I arranged, for a group of 40 people. Go here, you will be pleased!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.