We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center

The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center
1290 Doug Hollow Rd, Seneca, SC 29672
864-888-4446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 72 restaurants in Seneca
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Potenza, Italy
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had an anniversary dinner here and had a seperate room reserved. The staff was helpful and attentive but for a group of 18 we only had one waitress.

The food is average for the price. They have a wide wine and beer selection. The glassware was mostly spotted.

Nice location by the lake but nothing special, though one of the better, more "upscale", restaurants in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    41
    20
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall we had a terrible experience. We did have a group of 10 people and it was labor day weekend. First we had to wait 45 minutes for a table because they were understaffed and no one was clearing any dirty tables. I definitely don't blame our waiter because they were very understaffed but we had to wait a very long time for our food. Then when it came out it was lukewarm at best. I ordered the shrimp and grits and I guess they ran out of grits and didn't tell me because I think they gave me risotto. While we were in the restaurant we saw 3 separate tables get up and leave because they had no service. We did not have a good experience and I don't think I'll be going back any time soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We always enjoy eating at The Lighthouse. The restaurant has a great atmosphere and great good to match. We enjoy driving up for Sunday lunch at The Lighthouse. If you have not tried The Lighthouse, you owe it to yourself to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillard, Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, a little out of the way...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

You can see from the pictures that it's right on the lake. It's beautiful, The appetizers are wide ranging and interesting. We ordered the pretzel and the mushroom ravioli. The mushroom was very, very good. The pretzel was just ok. Oh yeah, there were rolls and cornbread and the cornbread was fantastic. I will go back and just eat cornbread and soup next time. One of us had steak, one had fish and one had ribs. It was all good. The waiter was very nice and checked on us frequently but not too often. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, SC
1 review
“They Have it All!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have eaten hear many times and love this place. But one of the best parts is the Event Center next door. We hosted a reception there and were blown away by Megan, the event planner. She was amazing!! The food and service were both fantastic, and the setting was 2nd to none! The only down side was the parking lots were very full and several guests had to park a little ways away. A young man that worked there was kind enough to give them a ride on a golf cart.

We recommend the event facility at The Lighthouse to everyone we know that is planning and event and just thought we should share it with you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.