We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center

The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center
1290 Doug Hollow Rd, Seneca, SC 29672
864-888-4446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Seneca
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Columbia, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“New place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautiful location overlooks the water. First Keowee resort restaurant open to the public, making it very convenient to get a great meal close by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Went twice, won't do again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Heard great things about the place. The first experience we had was forgettable. The food is average and over priced. The second time we went I felt safe ordering the specials. The chili seemed to be from a can (hormel)? The Philly cheese burger was even stranger. She ordered the chef salad which was greens with chopped sandwich meat. After receiving the salad she had realized it was the same as what she had a year ago, at least the cook is cosistant. Save a bunch of money and go to the ingles down the street. They sell better food in cans.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We took our mother here for a lovely birthday lunch! We had grilled trout sandwich which was very good; crab bisque which also tasty; great burgers; and delicious pecan pie and key lime pie. The atmosphere is both nicely decorated, bright with windows providing great views of Lake Keowee and the Blue Ridge mountains beyond; and cozy with a fireplace. Outdoor seating would be great in warmer months. Caesar salad was a disappointment (just mediocre lettuce and dressing). Overall highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Crab Bisque, Crab Bisque, Crab Bisque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Every time we go to the Lighthouse, we get a bowl of crab bisque. It is excellent. That said, we have never had anything bad at the lighthouse. Fish tacos were also very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot on Lake Keowee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visiting from Florida, we rented a boat for the day on Lake Keowee and stopped here for lunch. We pulled up to the boat slips for the restaurant and headed inside. The food was fresh and fantastic, and we would definitely go again. If I lived on this lake, it would be a weekly destination, if not daily!! Great job.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center also viewed

 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Restaurant & Event Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.