We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabrook Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seabrook Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seabrook Island Resort
1001 Landfall Way, Seabrook Island, SC 29455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Seabrook Island
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I have lived in NC most of my life, and thought I had visited every beach in the Carolinas worth visiting, but Seabrook is truly a unique gem! There are deer everywhere, and we ran into a few alligators too while riding our bikes. Renting a bike is a MUST on this beautiful island, so book those before you go to get the best selection. The beach itself is designed so that the houses are built behind the dunes, so for most of the island you can't see them at all when you are at the shoreline. It feels like your own secluded paradise! Can't wait to go back with the extended family next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Most people have heard of Kiawah Island, Seabrook's famous neighbour, but not so many know of Seabrook Island, a beautiful, tranquil Island just a few miles from Kiawah. In addition to 4 miles of beautiful sandy beaches Seabrook also has two great golf courses, tennis courts, an equestrian centre and excellent dining choices. Its a great place for kids too, the beach is perfect for bike riding as are the roads (the 25 mph limit is strictly enforced) and in the summer there are a number of camps and organised activities. Next time you think of South Carolina skip the crowds at Kiawah, myrtle Beach or Hilton Head and head to Seabrook, you will not regret it

Room Tip: Rent bikes, leave the car in the drive and explore the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Seabrook almost every summer in the Spinnaker beach houses. I absolutely love Seabrook Island and everything about it. We could just walk to the beach whenever from our house. The fishing is very good on Seabrook, also the crabbing. There are crabbing docks and creeks on the island also. I love the geography of the island, as the south beach is located on the North Edisto River inlet, where it meets the ocean. The surf us calm there. The clarity of the water is actually not bad, one of the best ive seen in SC. If you want bigger waves for boogie boarding or whatever, head to the north beach. The waves can get pretty big there. I also love that the island is smaller than, say, kiawah. It is very navigable, also, you can explore the whole island and ride your bike around it. Freshfields village offers very nice shops and restaurants. Newton Farms is the grocery market. Bohicket Marina, on the island, is great for buying fishing bait/equipment. They also have some shops and restaurants there. If you want to go to Charleston while you are at Seabrook, (which we usually do), it is an easy 30 minute drive. Seabrook also has amenties such as golf, tennis, equestrian, pools, and the beach club. I would definetly recommend Seabrook Island, SC to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Seabrook is beautiful, and close enough to spend a day or two in Charleston, but just isolated enough to get a little "stranded" feeling. The location results almost in forced relaxation, but that can be a good thing. Loved walking or biking around roads lined with beautiful homes and trees. The roads to Charleston are not interstates but have very few stop lights until close to the bridge to downtown. The market/grocery store at Freshfields nearby is perfect for the area. The island is beautiful but larger than expected. Driving is easy as traffic is very light, but at 25mph it's about a 9 minute drive from the southern tip of the island to the gated entrance. Stay toward the southern part if you spend alot of time at the beach club. An ammenity card is highly recommended as the beach pool complex is not accessible without one. We spent most of our time there. Red's Ice House has found a nice niche as a reasonably priced, very casual restaurant at the picturesque Bohicket Marina. Drop by the unusual Angel Oak tree if you're around the McDonald's and Piggly Wiggly area off Maybrook Rd. It's free, but on a dirt road and closes at night. The large beach house across the street from the main pool complex looks impressive but seems very formal and underused. Spent about two minutes there. Hints: Patriot's Point is a must, especially with kids old enough to climb the ships' stairs and ladders. Liked the location of Sealoft Villas where we stayed since it was close enough for an easy bike ride or very short drive to pool complex.

Room Tip: sealoft was a convenient bike ride or short drive to beach house. i like the value of staying not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you're looking for a Ferris wheel, arcade games, crowded beaches and non-stop distractions then Seabrook Island isn't the place for you. Myrtle Beach it is not, and thankfully so.

If you are looking for a place to do nothing but relax, enjoy the scenery, feel like you have the place to yourself and enjoy quiet moments with your family then make it Seabrook Island.

We've visited 6 times now, this month the most recent, and have never had a bad experience. This is a place to go to unwind. Read a book, watch the kids play in the surf, stroll the beach. Seabrook is the place to go to do nothing. It's a safe, secure and laid back private, gated haven that offers spectacular views, clean beaches and a wholesome family atmosphere. If you're comfortable being with your own thoughts we highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've been going to Seabrook since 2003. If you are looking for a Hilton Head experience with high rises and putt putt and water parks and malls....don't go to Seabrook. If you are looking for a pristine, natural setting with tons of wildlife and practically private beaches...then go to Seabrook. It is a residential country club community on the beach. It is not a resort. If you rent a private home or villa from a member of the club, then you gain access to the club amenities. Some amenities are free...outdoor pools including poolside beverage and food service and towel service. Some are not....golf, tennis and fitness center. So, if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation where you can recharge, then Seabrook is for you. There are plenty of activities nearby .... kayaking, deep sea fishing, lots of restaurants, fun shops at Freshfields, horseback riding on the beach etc. It is also wonderful for bike riding ... as the roads are safe due to the strict enforcement of 25 mph speed limit. And, historic Charleston is 30-45 minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice weather. Real nice tennis facility. Equestrian center the best attraction on the island.
Generally, it nice if your older retiree. There's nothing fun to do on the island. The golf courses are set up for older golfer.
Fortunately , Kiawah Island is close. If you got kids they'll bored.
Best place for them is Folly Beach ,about 20 miles away but lots of fun.
There's also a lot of regulations and presence of security personnel driving around,makes it hard to relax.

My wife absolutely refuses to go back next year. As she state, " too boring and too much attitude, especially at the Seabrook Club"

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seabrook Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabrook Island Resort

Address: 1001 Landfall Way, Seabrook Island, SC 29455
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Seabrook Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Seabrook Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Seabrook Island Hotel Seabrook Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabrook Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seabrook Island Resort to your Saves list