We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a long drive a welcoming restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clark's Inn and Restaurant

Clark's Inn and Restaurant
114 Bradford Blvd., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Clark's Family Restaurant)
803-854-2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Santee
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Clark's Restaurant is Santee's Favorite Place for Food & Spirits. A truly exceptional dining experience, Clark's offers guests three beautifully furnished dining rooms including working fireplaces.
Locust Grove, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“After a long drive a welcoming restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A very pleasant surprise in a long road trip. This was a very welcoming restaurant with good service and nice ambience if you go for Southern country.Generally on road trips right off the freeways the best you can get is fast food. This was much better than fast food yet did not cost a arm and a leg. Food was great! I will certainly stop at the restaurant on my next stop over in Santee. Whatever you do be sure to visit the gift store it has a lot of surprises.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    77
    37
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“gem of mid South Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I can't recall how many times we have eaten here; mostly dinner, but lunch a few times too. This family owned business stated in 1946 and is a holdover from the old pre interstate days when US 301 was the main north/south route. (When I-95 was completed, the owners simply relocated over one block from the old highway). The prime rib is simply the best I have ever had, and the desserts are excellent. It is a little pricey, but the atmosphere is well worth it. We have never had a bad experience here with the service. There is a gift shop that sells some interesting items, including an informative book on the history of the area. We will continue to eat here whenever our travels take us through South Carolina.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Since 1946,dining in Santee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

After a long drive north the Inn is a great place to stop. The dining room is a short walk from the rooms, no need to get back in the car for dinner..there is a bar are with a really nice atmosphere. Dining room is very pleasant. Would love to see it decorated for Christmas.
We started with the shrimp appetizer. Good shrimp but reading not crispy..seasoned with Franks red hot sauce.
Fried chicken came hot and crispy, baked potato..not nuked or steamed in foil and good cole slaw..
Blackened flounder disappointed. Blackened seasoning was too salty. Did not need a side of seafood sauce as well as tartar sauce. Vegetable medley was overlooked squashes and broccoli..
Service very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stopped in while visiting in Santee to read the dinner menu. We were told by a young man working in the restaurant about the special being offered, "Double Double", for $88 which included room & full breakfast. We went to the inn's office, & the young lady let us see a room, and we made a reservation. We had a nice room, & a wonderful breakfast this morning.
My only concern was housekeeping knocking on our door at 8:30. Checkout wasn't until noon, & breakfast was available until 11:00. My husband went back to our room while I strolled in the adjoining gift shop. When I came back to our room, housekeeping had come back & picked up our towels. Seemed they were rushing us out.
Even so, we would stay here again, if this special is available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudonville, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“We Eat Here Twice A Year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

On our travels from NY to Florida and back, we make it a point to stay at Clark's Inn and eat in their restaurant. We have yet to be disappointed in any dinner we have had at Clark's. Their fried chicken continues to be the best I have ever had. The service is always cordial and efficient. The prices are reasonable and the overall quality of their offerings is very good. We can recommend it to fellow travelers without hesitation.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clark's Inn and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clark's Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clark's Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.