We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf stay @ Hojo Santee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9112 Old # 6 Highway, Santee, SC 29142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    17
    14
    24
See reviews for
37
32
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Old, old facility, rooms were being "updated", sorry, but it's not working.
Old, old facility, rooms were being "updated", sorry, but it's not working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Dont stop at this hotel. The sheets n towels are dirty when they are suppose to be white. The rooms have a moth ball smell. The telephone didn't work. The free Wi-Fi is no good. I got What I paid for I guess. Take my advice n don't stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights because I was a guest of a wedding, need less to say I had to go to the Dollar General across the street to buy cleaning supplies to disinfect the whole room. I had to lysol the beds as they looked as though the sheets and comforters had not been changed, in addition to washing the bath tub that had tons of hair all over the place and had not been cleaned. The water was brown when I turned it on. The towels and face cloth were supposed to be white, but they were dirty and brown. Please do not stay here, expecially if you have children, I think there are too many germs !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to Florida. I booked the room online based on price and was not expecting the Ritz by any means. Once we got to Santee there seemed to be many similarly priced options (we pd 46$ plus tax). So I would likely stay somewhere else, just to see.
Pros: Convenient to I95. All first floor motel for easy in and easy out. Clean. Very nice lady at check-in. Soft mattress. Mini fridge in room. Non smoking room did not smell. Next door to Dollar General for snacks. Continental Breakfast.
Cons: AC was so loud I could barely sleep. Was ancient unit under the window. When the AC wasn't blasting, I could hear our neighbor's TV :(. Cheap linens and 70's decor. I did not feel safe leaving luggage in the car. It was a little sketchy feeling. No problems though. Breakfast was sparse and the coffee was grey.
All in all, I believe you get what you pay for. This place pretty much met my cheap hotel expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were driving from Florida to New York. We stopped at Howard Johnson's in the middle of the night when we decided we couldn't drive any more. We stopped at the Best Western down the street but they were booked. Since we stayed at the Best Western before and the stop was a good one, we didn't think going to the Ho-Jo's down the street would be different. The decor was old which is fine but the sheets were dingy and the pillow cases dirty. When getting settled in we saw roaches on the wall and one crawled on the bed toward my 7month old son. We pack up and returned the key. Unacceptable! I got a second wind and kept driving. Don't stop here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 9112 Old # 6 Highway, Santee, SC 29142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Santee Sc Hotel Santee
Howard Johnson Santee
Santee Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.