We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, minimal breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Whitten Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Whitten Inn to your Saves list
Whitten Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   123 Mall Street, I 95 Exit 98, Santee, SC 29142   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Santee B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, minimal breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here on a stop over during a longer trip based on the advertised price. Basic accommodations. Worn out looking bathroom with a cracked toilet, peeling paint, etc but not unsafe or unclean. Just worn out. Their brochure advertises a "deluxe breakfast bar" but all they had was some cereal, toast, danishes, bananas and a few oatmeal packets. Hardly deluxe. But you can easily walk to the bojangles next door for something more substantial. Ok for a cheap stop over when all you want to do is sleep and shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    21
    8
    33
See reviews for
26
26
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here several years ago and thought it was very good, clean and a great price. We recommended this hotel to many people, and even drove longer in our trip to make sure we stayed at this hotel. NEVER AGAIN!! We rented 3 rooms - the rooms and bathrooms were filthy. The carpet was dirty and had nail clippings on it, obviously not vacuumed. But the thing that made us leave and get a full refund within 10 minutes of being in the room was the cockroaches that were crawling up the walls and all over the tables in the room. We went to the front desk and Leah was great and apologized (not her fault), gave us a full refund and we were left looking for another hotel at 1:00 am. I'm embarrassed that we recommended this place to anyone and will never stop there again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santee hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Booked several rooms for college group. Mind you, these are college students who do not expect a lot in terms of a hotel room. Uniformly, they ageed that this was the worst hotel in which they stayed. The rooms were dirty. There were black hairs in bed-they slept in their clothes. The shower too dirty to consider using. Their summary was - "disgusting".
Wrote long email to hotel management to complain and never heard back a word. So much for the "family run" service.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Good location just off interstate, near major restaraunts, good value for area. Microwave and refrigerator, king bed extra but worth the price, two queens are regular price. Would recommend this for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $10 for a king bed rather then two small queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Would stop here anytime. Very Clean. Great staff. Melissa was knowledge and very friendly. Told us about Captains Quarters. Great food. Smells good. No dust. Would stay again. Great location. Great value for passing through.

Room Tip: Great place for pet lovers. Easy access and pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a great place to stay. It was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in!! Beds very comfy and rooms are a great side. THe only issue was the TV was not in very good shape. Look like the color was going and some channels did not come in. The breakfast was ok could of offered a bit more and they closed it bofore 9am like we were told. But if ever in the area we will diffently stay here again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, FL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in Room 135 on 8/26/12. The bathroom walls were crumbling, the carper was dirty. The coffee in the rm and foyer was terrible. There was no decaff coffee either place. TV was fuzzy, worse on some channels. TV Remote did not work well. Bathroom door did not close, shower curtain rod sloped so it did not stay closed. We were stepping on the shower curtain while bathing. Commode was stained, could not be cleaned. Toliet paper was thinner and harder than any we ever experience. Sink counter top was pulling away from the wall. Good rate but we would rather pay more and have a better room. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitten Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn

Address: 123 Mall Street, I 95 Exit 98, Santee, SC 29142
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Whitten Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Santee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitten Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.