We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile

Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile
2212 State Park Road, Santee, SC
803-854-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Santee
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner
Hampton, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Cut Above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have eaten at the Lone Star a number of times over the years and find the food consistent. I think the buffet is above the average Southern buffet for quality of the food and variety of items. It is an all-you-can-eat, self-serve buffet. Always on the buffet are pork BBQ, rice, hash, fried chicken, coleslaw, mac and cheese, banana pudding, a variety of veggies and salad fixings. Dinner and Sundays feature extra entrees and fancier veggies and desserts. It is open Thursday and Fridays from11:30 to 8, Saturday from 11:30 - 8:30, and on Sundays from 11:30 until 3. Lunch is $9.50 on Thursday through Saturday. Sundays and evenings cost $12.50. Tea, water and/or lemonade are included in the price which at first seems a little pricey, but consider that this includes entree, salad, dessert, beverage and tax. The atmosphere is interesting and the employees are friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    47
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rustic building, topnotch food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Whenever we are near Santee, our tastebuds demand a visit. We have eaten here only for weekday lunches, sampling the delicious food on the serve-yourself buffet. Nothing has ever been a disappointment. The pulled-pork barbecue is some of the finest we've tasted, and the tomato pie is a unique treat. Staff are friendly, cost is reasonable, and there's lots to look at in the dining area, where you feel as if you've been transported back in time to a traditional general store. The actual store area, where the buffet is located, has interesting items for sale, from food/kitchen items to carved walking sticks! You can also purchase a cookbook of Lone Star's recipes, including their signature tomato pie.

This is a great place to get a hearty meal after you've worked up an appetite in the fresh air of nearby Santee National Wildlife Refuge, a large and wondrous place to enjoy nature and see wildlife at any time of the year. Santee State Park is also in the vicinity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Quaint little Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went there at night. It was dark and felt like "deliverance land" as we drove in. All the buildings are from the late 1800s. Buffet style meal with interesting food. The fried chicken was the best I have ever had and the barbeque was very good too. Lots of "country'' dishes on menu

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by here on the way back to NJ from FL. After reading the reviews figured we would give it a try. Very glad that we did because the food was amazing!! The fried chicken and tomato pie were favorites at our table. Price was good for AYCE. If you are in the mood for southern food/barbeque make sure you stop here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Matthews, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and enjoy the entertainment they sometimes have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great atmosphere, great food and friendly staff. The owners are local people that really care about the quality of the food they serve. They even put on several outside concerts for the public several times a year for free. You can enjoy a great deal of entertainment for free or make a small donation if you would like to. These are wonderful family geared outtings where you see newborns to 80 years old or older. I have personally enjoyed a few of them myself.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile also viewed

 

Been to Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Star Barbecue & Mercantile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.