We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tilapia!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters

Captains Quarters
9053 Old Number Six Hwy, Santee, SC 29142
803-854-4695
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 restaurants in Santee
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Bedford, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best tilapia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We ordered fish dinners to go back to our room. The blackened tilapia was excellent. I highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    76
    61
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

service was terrible and the food mediocre. shrimp scampi was small and overcooked
will skip this place in future

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful Vermont
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Affiliated with and located immediately next door to Best Western Plus Santee Inn. We found very good service and very good food at a reasonable price. More than happy to recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Average-just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service was friendly and I was surprised that since we called for reservations, they did have a table ready for six hungry guests. The décor is simple and the place very clean. The menu is limited. However, they do suggest what type of wine to drink with your meal. The order arrived in a normal time. Now the bad, my salad was cold, VERY cold, bottled dressing? My grilled mahi-mahi lacked flavor – I had to add salt to it. Small portions for the price you pay, at $17.00 per plate ($28.00 per person average bill) I was looking forward for a nice presented well portioned plate of fish. Limited side dishes. You have to fix your own baked potato - butter and sour cream your only choices. The desserts were not home made-fresh. The place did not impress me. It is just average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“How bad can it get!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

i have been in the restaurant business for 23 years and have reviewed many before during and after my time...but this was the worst i have ever encountered! I barly made it back to the hotel, if you know what i mean. the food was just as bad as the service. they should just pack it in and quit! if i say more i could get sued. I think you get it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Quarters also viewed

 

Been to Captains Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.