We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best seafood restaurant on the lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters

Captains Quarters
9053 Old Number Six Hwy, Santee, SC 29142
803-854-4695
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Summerton, SC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best seafood restaurant on the lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We love the Captains Quarters. The fish is always fresh, delicious and well prepared. The employees are nice. The dining room is lovely and actually quite elegant for a fish house. I am a "low country" girl, so my favorite dish is... of course... the shrimp and grits, yum yum! Thanks guys, keep it up!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our hotel recommended this restaurant and it was a great choice! I had the sea scallops and my husband had the shrimp and grits. We couldn't stop eating off each others plates, they were both so good! The waitress was wonderful and we wanted for nothing. We will definitely plan a visit there again even if we don't stay overnight... It was that good!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2nd Choice in Santee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The good news: it is clean and the staff is friendly. The pedigree of the fish is questionable. Flounder may be ???, etc. The atmosphere is more fast food than fine dining. The preparation and presentation is bland. But, if your looking for a convenient fish dinner at an acceptable price, this may be your place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I live in Charleston, SC.....land of abundant seafood and a foodie destination. So I was hesitant to go to an inland seafood restaurant while attending a meeting at Santee State Park. The Park staff suggested Captain's Quarters, so my peers and I decided to give it a try. There were 18 of us, and we were all pleased with our food. I had crab cakes, and they were delicious......nothing but lump crab meat, a tiny bit of binder, and herbs!!! Imagine my delightful surprise!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“always a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

great selection and food..good choice for travelers. I have never had a bad meal there and never heard anything negative at all about them..its wise to call for a table ahead of time as they may be busy on the weekends, but thats because the food is good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Quarters also viewed

 

Been to Captains Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.