We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'LL BE BACK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Quarters

Captains Quarters
9053 Old Number Six Hwy, Santee, SC 29142
803-854-4695
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Santee
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I'LL BE BACK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful food and a great wait staff. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    87
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good choice if trying to get away from fast food during your trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were staying at the Hampton Inn and decided to go across the street to this restaurant to get a break from all the McDonalds we stopped at during our drive down. We were greated by friendly staff and were seated right away. We got there at 5:30pm, and the room quickly filled up after that.

The food was good, about what I expected. I ordered the Shrimp and Grits and it was delicious. The kids ordered fish sticks and they ate it, so I can't complain. My parents ordered some fried flounder with fried oysters. My mother ordered grits on the side and loved them. My husband got their crab cakes. He said they were ok, which is a compliment considering we are from Maryland!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A pretty good meal at the end of a long day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We stopped in Santee, SC and are staying at the Best Western Plus at exit 98. Having been in the car all day we opted for the short walk across the parking lot for dinner. We were seated immediately by friendly staff in a nice clean dining room. Both hubby and I chose the prime rib and our son was delighted to find spaghetti and meatballs on the menu. Our drinks & salad arrived quickly followed by our entree (with an appropriate breather in between). The prime rib was cooked just as we asked it and while it was a good quality cut of meat, it could have been seasoned better during roasting. It was still good and was devoured in short order. It was a little pricey for a decent travel-stop meal and the acoustics created an ambiance issue (especially at that price-point) If I had closed my eyes I would have sworn I was in a cafeteria. I would still recommend this as a good choice for dinner at this exit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Middle of the Road, hoped for better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Another traveler going down I-95. Stopped in Santee as a good stopover spot. Picked the Best Western from the reviews and pleased to see the restaurant next door. Wife and I walked over for Thursday night dinner. Not crowded so seated quickly, staff was friendly and efficient. Seafood, steaks and some Italian options on the menu. Almost as many off menu specials as well. My wife wasn't overly hungry, so she selected a house salad and the calamari appetizer as her entree. I went with the Mahi-Mahi and selected blackened as my cooking selection. Selected a sweet potato for my included starch and a house salad. Salad's came out quick. Wife had a little bit of wilted pieces. Seemed to be the normal bagged kind. Sliced tomato and cucumber also on the plate. The calamari was nothing special, pretty sure it as the typical breaded frozen type. My fish was a bit overcooked to a slightly tough state and not overly spicy like I had hoped for. Sweet Potato was on the small side and came with butter and cinnamon sugar on the side. From the reviews, I expected more, but as it turned out, Captain's Quarters was just your standard meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Easy to walk across SC Route 6... meal good value for money; staff friendly. Worth checking out if you like seafood.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Quarters also viewed

 

Been to Captains Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Quarters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.