We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson Santee a terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Santee to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Howard Johnson Santee a terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I waited more than a hour for the front desk staff to find my reservation made on line on HJ site and already charged to me, Room overlooked a sick pool totally unusable. The smell of something that died greeted us as we climbed the stairs to our room. Our no smoking room was filled with the odor of cigarette smoke. I had stayed in this location before and never had a bad experience but I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    49
    31
    28
See reviews for
77
54
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stopped here on our move from DC to Florida with our two dogs. After reading a lot of horrifying reviews of reportedly dingy and buggy hotels that accepted pets, we chose this one based on more pleasant reviews. Unlike other "pet-friendly" hotels, this does NOT have a 25lb restriction, so our two 50-ish-pound dogs were welcomed. The front desk staff was very friendly and charged us only for one dog (a $10 fee, which is very manageable). The room was clean and comfortable -- not luxury, but a perfect place for a quick stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear, Paula K
A special thanks to you and your family for joining us at the Howard Johnson Santee for a quick stopover on your trip. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our friendly staff members, clean hotel, and breakfast. We hope that you and your family will join us again in the future as you travel back.
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We checked in to this hotel on 6/1/13 stayed for 7 nights. My family and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The staff was really friendly, we were checked in by the manager Mr. Patel very nice person gave us opinion on some good places to eat. The breakfast everything we were looking for, I didn't have to go to a iHop or McDonalds to enjoy breakfast. By far nicest place to stay in Santee. The rates for very reasonable. No complaints.

Room Tip: IF your looking for a quiet clean environment consider this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear, John J
We Thank you for choosing the Howard Johnson Santee. We are Pleased to hear your stay at our hotel was marvelous. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our rise and dine breakfast. Again we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Santee and Hope to see you in the near future!
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Ater booking on line for My wife and I's 36 wedding anniversary, we arrived on June 21st to find the pool (a major selling point for us) was out of service. No mention of this was given before boking room.Was informed from a young person at the front desk,who kept telling me how sorry he was, that the pool would be clean by July 4th. Booked a non-smoking room, Found cigarette burns in bed linen and on the bath tub. On the last day of our stay, The cleaning lady tried to come into the room while my wife and were still asleep.Good thing we had the door bolted.Very Bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are very sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. As always, we will continue to have our hotel inspected on a regular basis and we will immediately act on even the slightest concerns of our guests so that if a problem arises, we can take care of the situation immediately.
In addition, we have shared your feedback about the tub stains of your room with our management team and our housekeeping team. We strive to offer exceptionally clean accommodations to each and every one of our guests and the situation described above certainly does not live up to those high standards. We have taken appropriate measures to improve the overall experience for our hotel guests and we hope that you will come back to see us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations and customer service that you and all of our guests deserve.
Sincerely,
Neal Patel-
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Address: 249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santee 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Santee
Santee Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Santee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.