We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Santee to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gibraltar
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Santee. Right across the road from Cracker Barrel made it a perfect place for dinner. Check in was quick and friendly. We did not have advance reservations. Breakfast was fresh, the dining area was open and the windows brought in the outdoors. Our room was fine. Our only issue was we were not able to park right outside our door. We didn't mention it to staff but would make that request our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words about our convenient location and close proximity to local restaurants. We hope you had a wonderful time and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    61
    39
    35
See reviews for
88
67
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Kingstown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The on and off convenience of the highway was great. The staff was friendly and polite. Room was very small and beds were uncomfortable. Breakfast was minimal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The lobby and eating area were clean and well maintained but our room was well below accepted standards for cleanliness. Very few TV channels and no no channel listing available. One of the lamps was located behind the dresser and could not be used. A sloppy paint job which included paint on a lamps power cord and plug. Shower curtain was a hazard - about 2 feet too long with the bottom laying in the tub.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and quite,This stay was just a place to lay my head on the road north wich i expect is the case with most of the lodgers. it was very well priced. would definitely stay again.the young men at the desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: all room nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the kind words about our convenient location and close proximity to local restaurants. We hope you had a wonderful time and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Address: 249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santee 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Santee
Santee Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Santee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.