We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feedback on stay at Howard Johnson in Santee, SC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Santee to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Santee
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Santee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    61
    39
    35
See reviews for
88
67
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My family stayed here for one night on our way Florida it was a perfect stop for us. it was nice had a microwave and mini fridge the bathroom was very clean,tub was spotless.the bed was very comfortable,slept like a baby.surrounded by Cracker Barrel,Burger king ,Mc Donald,Wendy's

Room Tip: nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear, Scott Russell R
Thank you very much for the 5 star review about our hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us on your way to Florida and really appreciate the kind words about our Cleanliness, Comfy beds, and convenient location. We welcome all travelers who need to stop for a quick rest on the way to their final destination.Thanks again for your time. We look forward to sharing this review with our team. They will be delighted to hear your positive feedback!
Sincerely,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on our way back home to Florida and this hotel was a great find. Very convenient to get on and off the exit. Very well priced and they have excellent service. Rooms were clean and recently renovated. The breakfast in the morning was excellent as well! Will definitely come back and stay here next time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear, SunnyJFlorida
Thank you very much for the 5 star review about our hotel. We are so glad that you chose to stay with us on your way to Florida and really appreciate the kind words about our customer service, excellent rates, and convenient location. We welcome all travelers who need to stop for a quick rest on the way to their final destination. We hope you choose us on your way back home. Thanks again for your time. We look forward to sharing this review with our team.
Sincerely,
Neal Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

First off... this hotel is under new management and should be advised in the website and it is not. When I went, there were construction workers working horribly. Dust everywhere and I was litterally breathing dust. They were smoking in the lobby. It is disgusting. The rooms are smelly, the MATTRESSES are disgusting. There are bugs everywhere. The carpet is just nasty to even step on.
I went because there were nothing available in the area. After I paid, went in the room... i left with my family to a different place 30 miles down. When i think of how dirty and disgusting this place was... i get goosebumps.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This place is the pits! You know you are in trouble when you're not good enough to be a Motel 6 anymore! TV reception terrible, desk clerk could not find cause. It was that way all over the hotel. Little bitty chips of soap in the sink and shower. Carpet dirty, as evidenced by the "white sock test". Also carpet had holes in it. No kleenex, shampoo, or other complimentary items normally found in hotels. No clock or clock radio. No, we didn't steal it, somebody beat us to it! More good news: the A/C unit and the refrigerator worked well, and we got a good night's sleep, partly because the place was so quiet, since we were almost the only people staying there! I would have complained even it it was free, but to add insult to injury, I paid $50+. AARP/Expedia should remove this property from their list (hint: Super 8 is $5 cheaper and much better!)

Room Tip: Try Super 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night in November as the midway stopping point for our move to FL. We were 4 adults, 3 large-ish dogs, 2 SUVs and a moving truck. We arrived late (around 9pm) and our three reserved rooms were ready. The 1st floor rooms were unavailable due to carpet shampooing that day, although we were given the option to stay in them if we insisted. We checked the carpets because it would've been easier to stay on the 1st floor, but they were just a bit too damp so went took the 2nd floor rooms. I had requested an adjoining room for 2 of the 3 rooms, but they aren't available on the 2nd floor...no big deal. We had a problem with the AC in one room not working, but the front desk staff gave us no problem with changing the room. Rooms and grounds were clean, beds were surprisingly comfy, and the price for all of us was more than reasonable. There are NO bells and whistles, but we were happy to just find someplace clean and safe that would accept 3 dogs. The lady at the front desk was very pleasant. We would not hesitate to stay here again if traveling with pets.

My only "suggestion" is that the gray paint on the sidewalk and stairs is VERY slippery when wet. Management might want to look into repainting with a less slippery paint. Thanks for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We have shared this review with our General Manager so that necessary changes can be made to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. Thank you for all of your feedback. We really appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The room was a good size, with the usual basics: TV, table and chairs, half-size fridge, and two beds. No hairdryer, iron, or alarm clock. The beds were pretty comfortable, and the bedspreads looked brand new. Don't count on being able to use the free wireless internet - the signal was too weak in the room to maintain a connection. The exterior could use some fixing up, but the rooms themselves, especially the furnishings, are in pretty good shape. For $40 I feel like I got what I paid for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neal P, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Santee, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Santee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Santee

Address: 249 Britain St., Santee, SC 29142 (Formerly Santee Fairway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Santee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Santee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Santee 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Santee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn Santee
Santee Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Santee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.