We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Campsite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devils Fork State Park

Devils Fork State Park
161 Holcombe CIR, Salem, SC 29676
864-944-2639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Salem
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Campsite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Over the labor day weekend we had camped in the Devils Fork camp grounds. We reserved a tent campsite. It was one of the amazing camp sites we've been to. We had a lake side one T10. Beautiful view of the water and mountains. We even had access to the lake right from the camp site. Especially beneficial for people renting/owning a boat/kayak/jet ski.

The tent sites are a little walk away from the parking lots, especially the ones closer to the water, but id say its totally worth the view.

The bathrooms were regularly cleaned, and they had hot showers too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Camping at Devils Fork”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Unfortunately the trip was cut short due to the bad weather. The overall experience, not good. Despite the place is really beautiful there is nothing much to do around except getting into the Lake Jocassee which is all around the park. I was expecting to visit the waterfall but you'll have access only if you have a boat. Renting them is quite expensive $250 for 4 hours for 4 people, kayaks are $50 a day but the closest waterfall is 3 miles away, just do the math. The closest town is Salem and Pickens, just about 15 miles away. Nothing typical to eat, we ended up in a KFC the only place available. We visited Chatooga Belle Farm, 40 miles away from the park. Had lunch and enjoyed picking fruits from the farms. Apples, peaches, grapes and berries. I would not recommend the park to anyone. If you like lakes and the mountains in the area I would highly recommend Cheoah Point in North Carolina , is no more than 100 miles away from the area and is just simply the best place in the Smokey Mountains.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Crystal Clear Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had such a good time at this park. It is on Lake Jocassee which is just beautiful. The water was crystal clear. We had a kayak and took it out every day. The access from the campground to the lake was very easy. There are a couple of trails each about 2 miles long. You can rent kayaks, canoes, paddle boats right next to the campground. There are convenient beaches for swimming also. There are organized tours of the waterfalls in the northern part of the lake, but they are kind of pricey. The only way to get to the waterfalls is by boat. The campground was well maintained and while we were there, they were cutting dead trees away. The roads and pads are all paved. There are large tent pads at each site. The bathrooms were cleaned each morning, and the showers had plenty of hot water. Had 3 bars on Verizon and the data never dropped. Picked up 7 channels on the OTA TV.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise in SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have been three times now. Stayed at double springs campground twice and park side once. It is more beautiful than you can imagine. Clear crisp water surrounded by mountains. Breath-taking waterfalls. If you haven't been, go.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful park and lake, not much to do without a boat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I camped here in my hybrid RV with my wife, 2 kids, and our dog. Weather was perfect and the park and area are just gorgeous. The campground employees were very nice and helpful.

We found a good (if a bit short) hiking trail that went out to a secluded point overlooking the lake... the kids and dog had a good swim. There's frankly not a lot to do in this park if you don't bring a boat for the lake.

The campsites are somewhat close together and it feels a bit crowded for an otherwise secluded spot.

Overall we had a good time but as we don't have a boat we probably won't hurry back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Fork State Park also viewed

South Carolina, United States
 

Been to Devils Fork State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devils Fork State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.