We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Pines View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Three Pines View to your Saves list
Three Pines View
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   151 Shack Hollow Rd, Salem, SC 29676   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Gift Certificate Special
Ranked #2 of 2 Salem B&B and Inns
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
“Unexpected treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

A couple of years ago I travelled up to lake jocasee to complete my scuba diving certification with a dive center. A friend in the class and I decided to camp out together in tents. Needless to say it rained the entire time we were there. After the first night of being miserable, we decided to find an indoor place to stay away from the rain! Well, three pines was where we ended up. We didnt even know it was a bed and breakfast. We showed up bedraggled and wet and Dianne met us and was the most gracious host. It was literally one of the nicest places I've ever stayed! I cant say enough great things about breakfast either. You sit in a small dining area and diannes husband cooks you breakfast. Its a wonderful five course breakfast! We had fresh fruit, sausage and pecan pancakes with hashbrowns. Amazing! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
77
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gaffney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

One of the best B&B we have ever stay in. Great views, food, rooms, etc. Close to the most beautiful lake I have ever been on, and I have been on alot. Diane and Steve were more than accomodating. Went out of their way to make sure our stay was more than perfect. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, sc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We just returned from our honeymoon stay at Three Pines View. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this B&B! The breakfasts were delicious with some ingredients grown by the innkeepers. The room was clean and comfortable in every way. The views are breath-taking. The value is unbelievable, and we absolutely can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is a lovely place! We went to Clemson on business and wanted some place not too far to take a couple days vacation and see the mountains. Our wonderfully decorated room was very comfortable with many amenities including very comfortable king bed, a wine fridge and microwave, gas fireplace, and small private porch looking out over the mountains. The lodge has a wonderful huge porch and a huge kitchen dining area with a fireplace. This would make a great place summer or winter to stay. Both mornings they served a delicious breakfast. The hosts were very gracious and in fact went out of their way to make us dinner the second night when a work related emergency prevented us from going out. We often stay at B& Bs and this is one of the nicest we have been to in a long time. A great place for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Nestled into the foothills overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains, Three Pines View offers an unparalleled stay to those who venture in. Hosts Steve and Diane Hayes provided everything we needed - spotless rooms, private balconies, roomy suites, wonderful beds. Added to that were Steve's yummy cooked-to-perfection breakfasts. Diane had two fireplaces going, one on the porch and one in the lodge, whenever we were around. Three Pines View is a gem - don't miss it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

When I booked my trip to Three Pines View I was desperate for a serious dose of rest & relaxation. By the time I left, I had only a single regret- that I hadn't planned for a longer visit! I have so many positive things to say about this B&B, but to name just a few:
- The views are simply amazing and majestic
- The accommodations are impeccable, sophisticated, and luxuriant
- The food is out of this world; fresh, seasonal, and home-cooked with a chef's touch
- The owners, Steve and Diane, are gracious, warm, and talented in the art of pampering
The overall experience was profound. I arrived as an over-stressed, over-worked individual at a crossroads in my life and I left feeling rested, rejuvenated, and inspired. Quite honestly, this trip was life-changing for me and I will be coming back this fall to experience it all over again with a group of my closest girlfriends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis, indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

My adult daughter and I spent two nights at Three Pines View and we can't wait to go back. Driving through the breathtaking South Carolina mountains was a just the beginning of a lovely experience. The hosts, Diane and Steve are warm and welcoming and their focus is on providing the most satisfying stay possible - from the wonderfully appointed rooms, the fun boat ride on one of the nearby expansive and beatiful lakes, the cozy fires places both indoors and out to the delicious meals prepared by Chief Steve who could successfully feed Wolfgan Puck. We left Three Pines View relaxed, well fed and spiritually renewed.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Pines View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Pines View

Address: 151 Shack Hollow Rd, Salem, SC 29676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Three Pines View 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury and Comfort, Romance and Intrigue, Escape and Adventure - Three Pines view offers all! Come see why we have won the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence two years in a row! Three Pines View boutique lodge is located in the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains outside of Salem, SC. We are also convenient to Lakes Jocassee and Keowee, Greenville SC, Clemson SC , Asheville NC, Highlands, Cashiers NC and Atlanta GA. Your vacation getaway features: healthy living, fresh foods from our gardens, gourmet breakfast, spectacular mountain views, and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Three Pines View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Pines View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.