We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to close to Lake Keowee and Jocassee.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
325 Sunrise Drive, Salem, SC 29676   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to close to Lake Keowee and Jocassee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Convenient to many of the South Carolina lakes, Sunrise Farms is a luxurious, yet affordable, place to set up base camp. While my wife, dog, and I love to camp, the local campgrounds are noisy and crowded (and don't allow alcohol!). This place is 10 minutes up the road and infinitely better.

We stayed in the Corn Crib cottage this time around, which is separate from the main house. Not quite as big as their other cottage, but just as nice. King size bed, small kitchen and living room, and nice little outdoor space, complete with a gas grill. The upside is that it is right next to where their farm animals graze. Wouldn't think I would be so fascinated, but watching the llamas, pot-bellied pig, sheep, and goats is an amazingly calming time-killer!

Breakfast every morning has always been superb. Jill is a very talented cook and possibly the nicest person i have ever met. very relaxed, yet still on top of everything that needs to be done on the premises. Madison, her daughter, is also great at taking care of the diners. Because of our dog, we ate out on the covered porch rather than inside. Honestly, it's even better than eating inside. If it's nice out, I recommend eating out there.

Push comes to shove, probably the best bed and breakfast we've ever stayed at. And we have stayed at a LOT.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
53
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been coming to Sunrise Farm for years and it has always been the perfect bed and breakfast venue. Julie, Jeff and Madison are nothing short of amazing. They intuitively know just what you will need to make your stay perfect and they deliver it with a smile and a kind word. Breakfasts are always delicious and nutritious and you have the added bonus of getting to visit with your fellow guests. Whether you opt for the Rose Cottage, the Corn Crib or the rooms in the main farmhouse, all are well appointed with anything you may need. We highly recommend Sunrise Farm and we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you Julie, Jeff and Madison.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We love staying at Sunrise Farm! It's so relaxing and I always feel right at home. Location is perfect for Lake Keowee activities. Breakfasts are fantastic; rooms are comfortable and have everything we need. Julie, Jim and Madison are gracious hosts and are very flexible to meet our needs and requests. I highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast for the fifth time. As has proven the case in the past, Julie, Jeff, and their daughter Madison, made our visit a relaxing and stress-reducing one. Breakfast was, as usual, very delicious and varied. Staying in a house over 100 years old is a real treat, with numerous antiques and nice grounds. Watching the resident animals is also entertaining. We plan to return, and we certainly recommend Sunrise Farm to anyone who appreciates easy-going and gracious hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Julie & Jeff were the perfect hosts. The accommodations are clean and the grounds very well kept. Breakfast was delicious! Outstanding service with tips on what to see and accurate directions to the sights in the area. They are avid waterfall seekers and know the inside scoop on how to get to them easily. They made our 24th anniversary very special. We were there as a couple but with the animals and playground we would definitely bring the grandchild.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our daughters gave us a South Carolina Bed and Breakfast Association coupon, and we decided to go exploring in the foothills near Lakes Keowee and Jocassee in upstate South Carolina. Our stay at Sunrise Farm was a pleasure, and we highly recommend this bed and breakfast. It is a small farm in a serene location with comfortable, spacious rooms inside the farmhouse and two cottages which accommodate pets. The owners provide many amenities such as satellite TV, DVD players, a bookshelf full of books and movies, a refrigerator stocked with water and soft drinks, tea and coffee available 24 hours a day, and delicious fresh-cooked breakfasts (such as egg-cheese puffs, whole wheat waffles, bacon, fresh fruits, scones, biscuits). Julie will tailor menus to individual dietary needs. The house has a huge shady porch and a balcony upstairs in the guest area. We enjoyed petting the llamas, sheep, and goats. There was a very nice restaurant on Lake Keowee (The Lighthouse) about 15 minutes away and a local breakfast/lunch restaurant very close. Otherwise, you need to drive a ways to dine. There are several state parks with hiking trails to waterfalls about 15-40 miles away, and there is a boat landing on Lake Keowee about 15 minutes away. Julie was very helpful in printing out driving directions, and she was very friendly and attentive. This is a wonderful place to relax!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are going to the South Carolina Mountain Lakes Region, or a Clemson sporting event, or Hot Air Balloons in Anderson, or just driving through the area, you really should consider staying at Sunrise Farm B&B. The home is a wonderful victorian farm house, filled with braid rugs, bead-board paneling, lots of puffy quilts on the iron frame beds, and the aroma of freshly made chocolate chip cookies, which have been baked just for you! Julie, Jeff and daughter Madison welcome you as if you are part of their family and you do become family by the time you depart. It's wonderful for children with the 2 minature horses, 2 llamas, 2 sheep, 3 goats, 4 cats, and darling buddy the little dog! So, for a soul renewing experience, spend a day or two at the "farm."

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 325 Sunrise Drive, Salem, SC 29676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Farm offers serenity in the South Carolina Mountain Lakes Region, minutes from Lake Keowee and Lake Jocassee. Sunrise Farm is a beautifully restored c. 1890 Victorian farmhouse with ten acres of peaceful rolling hills - THE perfect place to rest after hiking a scenic mountain trail, viewing the breathtaking beauty of one of the area's many waterfalls, or cheering on the Clemson Tigers! Guests may choose from spacious farmhouse rooms or private cottages. "Children" of all ages will enjoy the friendly farm animals. Children welcome (Under age 12 stay free.) Pets welcome in Cottages (with approval, fee.) A meeting room is available for seminars, small groups, and retreats. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.