We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closest Motel to Hunting Island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn St. Helena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn St. Helena to your Saves list
Quality Inn St. Helena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   863 Sea Island Parkway, Saint Helena Island, SC 29920 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn St. Helena)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Evans, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Closest Motel to Hunting Island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I was a bit nervous at first based on pictures, etc. We pulled up and I am not crazy about outside doors. Another case of don't just by the cover. It is an older motel, but room was clean and had everything we needed. Wonderful daily breakfast. Well worth the price, location, etc. Main point is I felt safe there and the staff made us feel right at home.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
25
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in June. Had a 2 queen bed room. Our 2nd night the hotel had gotten new mattress. They were much needed. The internet was working fine. We were able to get park passes both days. Hotel could use a pool and guest laundry would be nice. All the staff were great and helped with any issues we had which were not many. And they allowed us to check in early and directed us to several local sites to see. Would stay here again. They are doing a good job to improve the motel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Went by to check out this hotel so I could recommend to friends visiting the area.
It was very dirty and after looking at the rooms- Ugh!
Management was very rude and started talking bad about other businesses in town near by. Very negative experience so of course would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Helena Island hotels

Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A big disappointment was not having wifi when it was advertised. Apparently a part was sent but not the correct one to fix it we were told. We ended up going to McDonalds for wireless in Beaufort. I brought along two swim suits and no pool! That was my own fault for not really checking.. I WAS expecting one. Our room was old fashioned but did have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The door stuck opening and closing but it was quiet once in the room. Our TV remote didn't work but the staff brought us a replacement immediately. The breakfast was pretty good but there are only three tables, and one table only sits two in the hall. The staff was very nice and offered suggestions on dining and attractions. I did like the location and there were picnic tables in the back that people enjoyed using.

Room Tip: I would suggest one in the back..very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The room was clean enough, but the beds were not comfortable. The breakfast bar was pretty sad...not to much to choose from. The management and other workers seemed nice. The main reason we stayed here was the location. We wanted to be as close as possible to Hunting Island State Park. Quality Inn claims they have Hunting Island park passes, but they were always conveniently out. We were told to come early in the morning to get them, so we tried at 6:00 a.m. with no luck . There were hardly any people staying at the motel so I'm not sure why they wouldn't have passes. For the same price we could have stayed at a nicer hotel in Beaufort (which we will next time) with a pool. If you just want to stay close to Hunting Island and don't mind all the other small stuff then you will be happy with your stay here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The location is perfect for Huntington Island and Beaufort. The place is older and a little tired but the positives are the friendly and accommodating staff who went out of their way to rectify any situations and ensure we had a comfortable stay. The breakfast was perfect enough and a variety for anyone. I cannot recommend the two very near restaurants as we had poor service and food when we dined there. This place could really be a gem if it was refurbished and new fixtures and furniture were invested in.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We went to Hunting Island for our annual beach camping week; had to find a nearby hotel for my 92 year old father (and stay with him nights); got the handicapped room at a great rate. The free breakfast bar was okay (waffles, bagels, oj, yogurt, cereal, coffee) but a café across the parking lot was fantastic with great breakfast, very reasonable. The staff- and I mean from manager down to housekeeping- was outstanding: personable, friendly, service minded, kind, very accommodating to me and my father. Room was spacious and clean. In room coffee, micro, fridge. St. Helena Is is very near Beaufort and Lady's Island (where most commerce takes place), and about 8-9 miles from the Hunting Island state park and beach, marshes, etc. Hotel is smaller with outside access; no pool.

Can't say enough nice things about the stay. It is not a resort hotel but a clean, safe and great value. Thanks everyone at Quality Inn St. Helena!

Room Tip: Tree frogs did chirp at night but not loud enough to wake me! We stayed at front side on end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn St. Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn St. Helena

Address: 863 Sea Island Parkway, Saint Helena Island, SC 29920 (Formerly Country Hearth Inn St. Helena)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Saint Helena Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Helena Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn St. Helena 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn St. Helena/Beaufort South, Just minutes from Beaufort, SC in the historic Frogmore, SC area on St. Helena Island. The Quality Inn hotel is ideal choice for affordable and comfortable lodging, includes Q Corner Café Breakfast served daily, on site fitness center, Microwave and refrigerator in each room, free wireless internet.The Quality Inn hotel in St. Helena, South Carolina is conveniently located near the Penn Center national landmark and the art and history of the Gullah culture. As the closest hotel to the beaches and Hunting Island State Park, we offer a perfect place to stay while you take part in nearby shopping, fishing, kayaking, boating, horse back riding, and golfing. Minutes to Parris Island Marie Recruit Depot, 10.5 miles, Offer a USMC discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn St. Helena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn St. Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.