We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on Dataw!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetgrass Restaurant

Sweetgrass Restaurant
100 Marina Dr, Dataw Island, Saint Helena Island, SC 29920-3017
843-838-2151
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem on Dataw!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Sweetgrass Restaurant is located on the Island of Dataw, a gated community but you can get a pass to go to the restaurant and enjoy the water views from the Marina. The food is delicious and one of my favorites are the crab cakes. Their desserts are all home made and are excellent.
Claudette H.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    16
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Find on Dataw Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We went to Dataw Island for our first time tonight. Sweetgrass Restraunt was unbelievably good! There were 5 of us with different entrees and sides, and everyone was pleased! The owners were very accommodating...we were allowed to mix grilled and fried shrimp with oysters. Skye, the chef, is only twenty years old, but he has the taste and talent beyond his years! Can't wait to return for more wonderful food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious! Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yummy, yummy food. Fresh, simple, and high quality. My husband had the seafood platter and loved all of it. The shrimp was so good but the star of my meal was the sweet potato hash. I could have eaten a big plate of that as a meal! We indulged in the chocolate Pluff cake - totally worth the zillion calories. Lovely meal in a lovely atmosphere. Go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

What a treat to dine here tonight. This is the first time we have been here with the new chef and new
menu. The level of the food has gone up many notches. It was good before but tonight it was excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful. The service was excellent. It was a lovely evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful meal. The new menu is very good. Had the deconstructed frogmore stew that included a salad. The sausage in the stew was the best I've ever had. I would go back in an instant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetgrass Restaurant also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Sweetgrass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetgrass Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.