We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Honor Reservations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foolish Frog

Foolish Frog
846 Sea Island Pkwy, Saint Helena Island, SC 29920-3902
843-838-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Doesn't Honor Reservations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Be very careful when making a table reservation. We made a reservation 48 hours prior to our 7:30 time on 6/27. When we arrived on time we were told a 7:00 walk in and a 7:45 reservation who arrived early had taken our table. We were offered no apology or alternatives. I have never been treated this badly upon arrival at a restaurant. In addition the table we were finally given (outside on the deck) was served by a waitress with a bad attitude.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    70
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate at Foolish Frog last week. It is a cute place on a marsh with a great outdoor seating area. Although the restaurant itself was fine (clean, good decor, etc) I would highly recommend the outdoor seating. Our party of 5 was seated immediately and the service was excellent. The food was good and we were happy with it but the biggest raves for this restaurant were definitely the service and outdoor seating. Every employee we dealt with (hostess, servers, bartender) were top notch and it was clear the restaurant takes customer service seriously.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and incredible views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My hubby and I ate here after a day trip to the coast. It is a very understated place underneath a few moss-strewn oaks on a marsh. I am a HUGE fan of marshes so I fell in love immediately. :-)

Anyway, we arrived about 5:30 PM and were seated immediately. The interior is an average size and very clean. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the beer and wines offered and answered all our questions about the menu with ease.

Tim and I both had the ahi tuna special, and it was outrageously good! The wine the waitress recommended paired beautifully with it. This was a delightful meal in a very lovely place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Came back to The Frog for a farewell lunch with friends after Will took over and the menu is FANTASTIC! Each of us had something different from Grouper cheeks (?) to a burger yo an Ahi salad, and ther were no dissapointments. Even the bird feeders for entertainment were sublime. Great improvement all around. Thanks Will!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not Impressed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner, just wasn't impressed with the food, I ordered the beef ribs....they were very tough and chewy, the meat didn't want to come off the bone.....the slaw was nothing special.....my husband ordered a sandwich and it was just average.....the décor is nothing special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foolish Frog also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Foolish Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foolish Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.