We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters, Shrimp, and Fried Pickles Oh My!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foolish Frog

Foolish Frog
846 Sea Island Pkwy, Saint Helena Island, SC 29920-3902
843-838-9300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fairport NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oysters, Shrimp, and Fried Pickles Oh My!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Make the time to stop in! The Foolish Frog has a "locals hangout" feel. There were 7 in our party and we stopped in for lunch. We started off with steamed and raw oysters along with fried pickles. The oysters weren't too gritty and tasted a little salty. I ordered the "Swimp" burger(a gullah dialect for shrimp that they use on their menu). This sandwich was amazing! It needed no sauce or any other condiment. It was ground up shrimp and then deep fried. There were no complaints at the table with the other dishes which included the crabcake burger, the local catch deep fried, hamburger. Overall a great time. If you have the time...stop in! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    78
    32
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Oysters and Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were looking for a place to eat after visiting the Penn Center Museum. It was Saturday at 2:00 pm and the place was busy. Lot of people eating oysters so I had some they were great. I also got the seafood soup and it was good. My wife had the crab cake which had very little fill and was great. She could have done without the roll. But would go back and try out for dinner.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not foolish, no frogs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in with 4 adults, 4 kids. Danielle was an awesome waitress. Kids were at a separate table and she was great with them separately. We all recommend the fried okra, fried tomatoes, calamari. Also, the peel and eat "swimp", Cuban sandwich and my 8 year old loved the fried oysters. We will definitely be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Reopened!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Foolish Frog has reopened. We went to brunch on Sunday and were pleasantly surprised by the changes in the menu. The crabcakes were wonderful and no filler. The waitstaff were friendly and accommodating. It's a lovely location on the marsh. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went to the Foolish Frog a couple years ago and didnt care for the food, too much fried stuff that was overbattered and pretty bland. Was happy to hear new owners bought the restaurant because it really is a gorgeous restaurant w/ a huge deck with a great marshview. I've been 5 times since they reopened in Feb. and love that they have a great selection of appetizers that i can eat at the bar. Best crabcakes i've ever had, no filler, just lump crab meat :). the calamari was incredible with peppers and served with garlic chimichurri sauce. The Filet is cooked perfectly and served with sweet potato crab hash and fried plantains. Yum!!! The Vietnamese Pork Belly is sooooo good!!! Fantastic view on the deck of the marsh - will def. be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foolish Frog also viewed

Saint Helena Island, SC
Saint Helena Island, SC
 
Saint Helena Island, SC
 

Been to Foolish Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foolish Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.