We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Processed meats and canned veggies....really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of FATZ

FATZ
478 S Herlong Ave, Rock Hill, SC 29732-9313
803-980-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 227 Restaurants in Rock Hill
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: At FATZ, we serve your favorite American fare with a delicious twist. From steaks to seafood, treat your taste buds to the flavors of FATZ.FATZ is committed to the highest standards of fresh quality food preparation with the finest of ingredients.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Processed meats and canned veggies....really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited Fatz to try their Sunday specials; I ordered the Roast Turkey dinner with all the trimmings; well, the turkey was a turkey breast roll (pressed meat) sliced over the stuffing, not what I was expecting. The mashed potatoes had pieces of white stuff in it, like maybe cream cheese that was not mixed in well. The green beans were canned, mushy and very, very over seasoned with black pepper, we couldn’t eat them. My husband and my father order the chicken fried steak, which was pre-frozen and chewy. We have eaten here in the past and the food was pretty good. We know it's not your high cuisine type restaurant, but really, canned veggies and frozen meats? For what we paid, the food quality subpar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeEnterprises, Manager at FATZ, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are sorry to hear you found our food lacking quality. What you describe does not live up to the high standards we expect of our team. Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback as we can’t get better without it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, food OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fatz is a typical chain restaurant with greasy menus (both literally and figuratively), big plates with small portions and boring food. On a recent visit, my husband had the cider sampler (steak, shrimp, chicken tenders) which he deemed as "not bad". I had the lite fish sandwich with broccoli and a side salad. I requested the fish cooked without oil and butter; they broiled it, which was OK except for the disgusting lemon pepper seasoning (wiped most of it off with napkin). The broccoli was great, but the salad (ordered without cheese, croutons and bacon) consisted of lettuce and a couple of cherry tomatoes. Boring! I asked about the veggie salad that is on their website and received a blank stare. I ate the fish without the bread, because I don't consider a nearly 600 calorie meal on the "lite side" (maybe compared to rest of menu?).
The service was pretty good and drinks were refilled promptly. Atmosphere a bit depressing and place smells like old grease. Anyway, if you like bland food (some people do!) and have lots of calories to spare, Fatz might be your place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath Springs, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fatz Wonderful We went to the one in Rock Hill, and Camden SC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This restaurant is wonderful, The staff walks by your table every few minutes to see if you need drinks, or bread, the have endless poppyseed round rolls served with honey butter they serve you when you sit down and if you run out they keep them coming. After about 5 minutes they ask you if you need anything. The atmosphere is great, service could not ask for better, great menu for all ages. The food is always good, whenever we go on vacation wherever that may be, we always look for a FATZ. The manager came by our table to make sure everything was to our liking. One item we ordered took a little bit longer, we had a large crowd, the manager brought the item out personally,apolized and did not charge us for it, it was a appitizer for 8 people it was a Tower of Onion Rings charge 12.99 which i consider a good price for 8 people and 20 onion rings, but the manager did not charge us for them and additionaly gave us an extra 15% off our bill. I was suprised and told him that was not neccesary, but he stated he wanted to keep his customers happy. We had a great time! Will always go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dependable & friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Always dependable quality and service. Moderately priced serving good food, delicious rolls. Never had desert as portions are always enough to fill anyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hostess warmly greeted us as we entered, our server was super sweet, & our food came out quickly- couldn't ask for more. Friendly, inviting atmosphere. . .And the food delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FATZ also viewed

 

Been to FATZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FATZ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.