We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Main Guest House

East Main Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rock Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Main Guest House
Save
You added East Main Guest House to your Saves list
600 East Main Street, Rock Hill, SC 29730   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Rock Hill B&B and Inns
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
“Warm Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this beautiful bed & breakfast for two nights in the Garden Room while she looked for housing as she transitions to a new job in the area. We were warmly welcomed by Donna and Scott and every detail has been attended to in this B&B. Breakfasts were scrumptious and recipes willingly shared - food allergies/likes and dislikes were incorporated. Home is gorgeous and truly the epitome of a bed and breakfast. We were not disappointed with restaurant recommendations from Donna and enjoyed local produce and meeting other local people. Great breakfast and after-breakfast conversations with Donna. Owners/managers truly care for their guests and this came through in everything they did. Outdoor gardens are lovely also - sat outside and read until dark on one evening. I look forward to a return stay when my daughter moves and I go to visit!!! Hated to come home! This bed and breakfast truly exemplifies Southern Hospitality at its finest and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our one night stay was indeed top-notch. Melba was the epitome of kindness, caring and genuine, down to earth hospitality. The room was most comfortable and the breakfast was exceptional. As B&B owners, ourselves, we had very interesting discussions with Melba and learned a lot from her many years of running a B&B. This is a 5-star establishment all around and spotless from top to bottom.

It is also located in an ideal location just minutes from the I-77. It is about 8 hours North of Fort Lauderdale and a great place for travellers heading either North or South. We highly endorse this B&B and definitely recommend a stay, as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the second night of our trip to Florida from PA. We stayed in the East Room as we are past the "Honeymoon Suite" stage and not ready yet for "twin beds" of the Garden Room....though both of those rooms were lovely as well. The East Room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Everything was immaculate. There is a large guest living/sitting room on the same floor as the B&B guest rooms. We didn't have time to utilize it but it would be very nice to do so on a longer stay.

On our arrival, our hostess, Melba, was very warm and welcoming. She provided us with information for a walk downtown where we dined at the Old Town Bistro after walking around center city Rock Hill. It was our first trip to Rock Hill, SC and we enjoyed learning about the history of the area and the city.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Melba chatted with us and answered our questions. She is an interior decorator and it shows! By the time we departed, we felt like we were leaving a friend behind. I would highly recommend this B&B and would stay there again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Florida in January 2012. Lovely home with 3 delightful, clean, and well decorated rooms. Home is a craftsman style and owner still had Christmas decorations up which added to the experience. Large and well prepare breakfast and great converation with owner. Why stay in hotel when this affordable and great option is available.
Local restaurants and shopping within walking distance if you have time. We ate at McHales which provided good food and atmosphere. One room has bathroom outside room but is private to the room which is full of windows and springlike.

Room Tip: The garden room has bath outside room which is not shared. Others has private ensuite. No road noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stay regularly in B and B's and this is one of the nicest we've experienced. Melba has a degree in interior decorating from Winthrop and it shows. It's a great property, inside and out.

We stayed in the East Room and we'd recommend it. We took a look in the other rooms and all were well appointed. East and Honeymoon have private, adjoining full baths. The other room (twin beds) has its own bath but you have to step out into the hall to access it.

Upstairs has a game room and downstairs has sitting/reading areas.

Breakfast was very good; Melba uses herbs from her garden.

The property is easy to reach from I-77. I'd recommend this to anyone making a stop in the Charlotte area on their way south.

Melba is a gracious host; anyone would be comfortable at the Guest House. That said, guests with young, active toddlers might worry that they'd get hold of the decorations and accessories.

The value here is excellent. I'd rate the price range inexpensive but I'm always afraid folks see that as "cheap and worth it".

I don't give strong positive recommendations often but I have no problem doing so in this case.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to East Main Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Main Guest House

Address: 600 East Main Street, Rock Hill, SC 29730
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Main Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.