We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room service failed 50%” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   911 Riverview Road, I-77 Exit 82B, Rock Hill, SC 29730   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Rock Hill
Titusville
1 review
“Room service failed 50%”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed 4 night and the room was done twice. And never got new towels but the first nigh. Front desk guide perfect. Room service poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Luis G,
We are sorry to hear that your room was not serviced to your satisfaction.Normally,our housekeepers provide excellent service and ensure all of our rooms receive special attention.Please consider staying with us in the future so that we may be given another opportunity to delight and impress you with our excellent service and cleanliness.
Umesh Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    101
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
131
75
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Pay for a "free breakfast". Most of the folks that stay here for work are long gone before the 6 AM start time. Staff will not even consider letting anyone in early or even make up to go bags like alot of places.
Overnight lady always seems pissed when she has to help you.
Never has soap or shampoo replaced during a one week stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear William S,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations.We prepare food items and brew coffee apooroximately 20 minutes prior to 6:00Am to insure that our breakfast is fresh for our guests.Our overnight staff is usually very accommodating and they allow guests who need to leave the hotel very early the opportunity to enjoy our complimentary breakfast before the normal starting time of 6am on most occasions. Please contact me at 803-329-7900 so that we may personally discuss the issues you had regarding your unpleasant experience.Again, my sincere apologies and i look forward to speaking with you soon!
Respectfully,
Umesh Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very friendly staff,adequate rooms,places to eat close by,VERY easy on off interstate,very quiet,average breakfast.We have stayed here 6 times and will continue as we move north/south.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Edward L,
Thank you for continuing to stay with us during your travels! Our staff would like to personally thank you for the pleasant feedback.We look forward to providing exceptional customer service on your next visit.
Umesh Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here to visit some friends in the area who are doing some renovations and don't have space for an overnight guest at the moment. I arrived close to 10pm on March 1 and the desk clerk, Heather, had everything ready to go. It took less than 5 minutes to check in; then it was around the building to my room.

I had a second floor room that was quiet, clean, and well-kept. The room and bathroom were large enough for a couple night's stay. The water was always hot and the towels were clean, although VERY well used. The heat/air unit was also well used and the dial was almost impossible to read, but it heated up the room quickly and maintained the temperature.

I, unfortunately, was not pleased with the comfort of the bed/pillows. I woke up multiple times during the night because I couldn't get comfortable. I was disappointed in this VERY important aspect since I only got the room to sleep.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of make your own waffles, bagels, some pastries, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, juice, and coffee.

The front desk staff, John, was extremely friendly and checkout on Sunday was a breeze. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel for its value, especially since it was clean, quiet, and well-maintained.If the bed had been a lot more comfortable, I would certainly be staying here again. However, that will not be the case since I wasn't able to sleep well on the bed provided. Of course, that could be an isolated instance as everyone's bed preferences are different!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacob1974, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear W-S_ consumer,
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us.Our highly trained staff works very hard to make guests receive prompt and courteous service, and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the service received from our front desk staff.However, It was unfortunate that you did not have a comfortable sleeping experience. In the near future, we plan to update out linens and improve the comfort of our mattressed. Hopefully, you will be more comfortable the next time you stay with us! Thank you for the kind words, and the feedback regarding ares on which we may improve! we hope to see you very soon.
Thank you
Umesh
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill

Address: 911 Riverview Road, I-77 Exit 82B, Rock Hill, SC 29730
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Rock Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rock Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill Hotel Rock Hill
Howard Johnson Rock Hill
Rock Hill Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Rock Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.